Skip to main content Skip to simple nav

Loyola Student-Athletes Earn University Honors

Oct. 3, 2011

BALTIMORE - Several Loyola University Maryland student-athletes were among those honored this past weekend during ceremonies on Family Weekend.

The school celebrated Gratias on Saturday evening, a ceremony that recognizes students who have excelled in community service, the classroom, leadership and who embody the Ignatian ideal of care for the whole person. Five Greyhound student-athletes were recognized at Gratias.

Women's basketball junior Alyssa Sutherland earned the Cura Personalis Award, given to students who embody the Ignatioan ideal of care for the whole person through demonstrated service, leadership and academic achievement.

Women's track junior Megan Trainer was recognized with the Community Service Award, given to students who have given a significant contribution to the greater community through involvement with service during the preceding year.

Sutherland, Trainer and women's swimming sophomore Noelle Staib also earned the Magis Scholar-Leader Award, which honors students who complement superior academic performance with co-curricular involvement.

Men's tennis senior Kenyan Sanai was one of ten students selected to service on the Diversity Advisor Board. Students were selected based on their involvement and the unique perspective they bring on the many facets of the Loyola community. The Board will advise the Vice President for Student Development as to how diversity issues and concerns can best be addressed with the student body.

Women's cross country senior Stephanie Gibney was one of fourteen seniors selected for the Green & Grey Society. The students were selected by their peers and the Loyola University Maryland administration for their contributions to the University and their leadership abilities. The Society acts as a liaison between the President and the student body.

The school also celebrated Honors Convocation on Friday afternoon where Loyola handed out awards for academic excellence. Academic departments recognized leaders in their respective classrooms, and new members of the Honors Program and Presidential Scholars were honored, as well.

Following is a list of student-athletes who were acknowledged at the Honors Convocation:

Department Awards
Noreen Petrash, General Chemistry Achievement - Women's Cross Country
Hector Arellano, Sophomore Engineering Achievement - Men's Soccer
Faye Lukas, First-Year Studio Arts Achievement - Volleyball

Haber Summer Science Research Fellowship
Matt Hassett, Biology - Men's Cross Country

Junior Business Achievement
Christopher Golon - Men's Crew

Sophomore Business Achievement
Jonathan Ross - Men's Golf

Honors Program Freshmen
Joseph Cahalan - Men's Soccer
Helen Coleman - Women's Crew
Lissie Grieco - Women's Crew
Lauren Puleo - Women's Cross Country/Track and Field
Abigail Thompson - Women's Crew

Claver Scholars
Nicole Lopez - Women's Track and Field
Allison Rose - Women's Swimming & Diving

Presidential Scholars
Amanda Adsit - Women' Crew
Brendan Burke - Men's Crew
Joseph Cahalan - Men's Soccer
Helen Coleman - Women's Crew
Bart George - Men's Golf
Elizabeth Murphy - Women's Crew
Jessica Peters - Women's Cross Country/Track and Field
Colleen Folan - Women's Soccer
Allison Rose - Women's Swimming & Diving
Elizabeth Barranco - Women's Lacrosse

Beta Gamma Sigma
The National Academic Honor Society for Schools of Business accredited by the American Assembly of Collegiate Schools of Business

Christopher Golon - Men's Crew
Rachel Janasek - Women's Tennis
Erin Shea - Women's Swimming & Diving



Latest Tweets

More Headlines
There are no upcoming events.