Skip to main content Skip to footer

Adams Among 24 Finalists For Induction Into National Lacrosse HOF

Head coach Jen Adams is among 24 finalists to be inducted into National Lacrosse Hall of Fame

March 22, 2012

BALTIMORE - Loyola University Maryland head women’s lacrosse coach Jen Adams has been announced as one of the 24 finalists on the 2012 National Lacrosse Hall of Fame men’s and women’s ballots. From these ballots, the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame men’s and women’s voting committees will select the 2012 induction class. US Lacrosse will announce the inductees prior to Memorial Day weekend. 

The 12 women’s finalists are: Jen Adams, Kelly Amonte Hiller, Quinn Carney, Julie A. Dayton, Missy Foote, Elaine Knobloch, Leslie Blankin Lane, Sarah Nelson, Carin Peterson, Susan Billheimer Phillips, Cindy Timchal, and Maggie Vaughan.

The 12 men’s finalists are: Roy Colsey, Jake Curran, Brian Dougherty, Thomas W. Hall, Jesse Hubbard, Steve Mitchell, Tim Nelson, Robert Shek, Robert V. Shriver, Richard Speckmann, Brian Voelker, and Michael Watson.

A three-time first-team All-American at Maryland, Adams was the inaugural winner of the Tewaaraton Award in 2001, was a three-time National Player of the Year and three-time National Attacker of the Year. In addition, she led the Terrapins to four NCAA Championships and three ACC Championships.

She ranks as Maryland’s career leader in goals, assists and points, and was named to the NCAA 25th Anniversary Team.

On the international level, Adams was a three-time member of Australia’s Women’s National Team and was named to the All-World Team in 2005 and 2009.

In 2007, she was inducted into the USL’s Potomatic Chapter Hall of Fame.

As a head coach, Adams has compiled an overall record of 43-19 in four seasons. She was named the BIG EAST co-Coach of the Year in 2011 after leading the Greyhounds to their first-ever conference title and a trip to the quarterfinals of the NCAA Tournament.

Initiated in 1957, the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame has annually inducted individuals based on outstanding lacrosse achievements and/or contributions. The mission of the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame is to honor men and women, past and present, who by their deeds as players, coaches, officials and/or contributors, and by the example of their lives, personify the great contribution of the sport of lacrosse to our way of life. The National Lacrosse Hall of Fame is housed in the Lacrosse Museum at the US Lacrosse national headquarters in Baltimore, Md.

For more information about the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame criteria and selection process, and to view a full listing of all current Hall of Fame members, click here






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


proud sponsors of greyhound athletics