Skip to main content Skip to simple nav

Men's Soccer Releases 2014 Schedule

Connor Thompson and the Greyhounds open their home schedule Sept. 2 at Ridley Athletic Complex.
Connor Thompson and the Greyhounds open their home schedule Sept. 2 at Ridley Athletic Complex.

June 26, 2014

2014 Loyola Men's Soccer Schedule

BALTIMORE - Loyola University Maryland men's soccer will host seven regular-season games at Ridley Athletic Complex as part of its 2014 schedule in the first season under the direction of new head coach Steve Nichols.

"We are excited about the 2014 season with a schedule that will be challenging and feature quality opponents from various regions that have NCAA Tournament experience," Nichols said. "The non-conference lineup will surely prepare us for a very competitive Patriot League."

Nichols' side will open the season on the road Friday, Aug. 29, at Saint Francis University in Latrobe, Pennsylvania, and the Greyhounds then play their first home match of the year Tuesday, Sept. 2, against Howard University.

All matches are subject to change, and fans can check LoyolaGreyhounds.com in upcoming weeks for times and further information.

Loyola then embarks on a three-match swing away from Ridley that will take it to Campbell University (Saturday, Sept. 6), Drexel University (Wednesday, Sept. 10) and Stetson University (Saturday, Sept. 13).

The Greyhounds return home for a midweek contest Wednesday, Sept. 17, versus La Salle University.

Loyola plays a non-conference contest Saturday, Sept. 20, at UMBC before opening its second season of Patriot League action a week later, Saturday, Sept. 27, at College of the Holy Cross.

Back-to-back contests against conference foes Colgate University and Bucknell University will take place at Ridley Saturday, Oct. 4, and Wednesday, Oct. 8. The Greyhounds then make a trip to the U.S. Military Academy Saturday, Oct. 11 for a date with the Black Knights.

The Greyhounds play their last non-conference tilt of the regular-season Tuesday, Oct. 14, at Princeton University and then host Lehigh University and Boston University on consecutive Saturdays, Oct. 18 and 25.

American University will host Loyola Wednesday, Oct. 29, and the Greyhounds will take on the U.S. Naval Academy in a home match Saturday, Nov. 1, before closing the regular-season at Lafayette College, Saturday, Nov. 8.


 

 

The top six teams in the Patriot League regular-season standings will participate in the Patriot League Championships. Teams seeded third through sixth will play in quarterfinal games at the higher seeded schools Tuesday, Nov. 11, with winners advancing to face the top two seeds in the semifinals at the regular-season champion Friday, Nov. 14. The Patriot League Championship Game, which will determine the conference's automatic qualifier to the NCAA College Cup, will take place Sunday, Nov. 16.

2014 Loyola Men's Soccer Schedule

Friday Aug. 29 at Saint Francis (Pa.)
Tuesday Sept. 2  Howard
Saturday Sept. 6 at Campbell
Wednesday Sept. 10 at Drexel
Saturday Sept. 13 at Stetson
Wednesday Sept. 17 LaSalle
Saturday Sept. 20 at UMBC
Saturday  Sept. 27   at Holy Cross *
Saturday Oct. 4 Colgate *
Wednesday Oct. 8 Bucknell *
Saturday Oct. 11 at Army *
Tuesday  Oct. 14 at Princeton
Saturday Oct. 18 Lehigh *
Saturday Oct. 25 Boston *
Wednesday Oct. 29 at American *
Saturday Nov. 1 Navy *
Saturday Nov. 8 at Lafayette *
Tuesday Nov. 11 Patriot League Quarterfinals
Friday Nov. 14 Patriot League Semifinals
Sunday Nov. 16 Patriot League Championship Game
* - Patriot League match
Schedule subject to change

Latest Tweets

More Headlines
Calendar
There are no upcoming events.

GreyhoundLinks