Skip to main content Skip to simple nav

2008 Loyola College Athletics Banquet Award Winners


April 28, 2008

Sophomore Milos Kocic was named the Loyola men's soccer team MVP at the athletic awards banquet on Monday night. Kocic ended the season as the country's top goalkeeper in goals-against average and second in the nation in save percentage. Overall, Kocic led a team that ranked No. 1 in the nation in shutout percentage and fourth in the nation in win-loss percentage.

Loyola's men's soccer Most Dedicated award went to senior Julian Cantillo. Like Kocic, Cantillo played a large role in Loyola's tremendous success. The Greyhounds tied a school record with 17 shutouts and 19 wins. The team advanced to the second round of the NCAA College Cup before falling to the University of Maryland in two overtimes and penalty kicks.

Other awards banquet highlights included senior award winners. Seniors Kristen Stone and Paul Richards were named recipients of the Ernest Lagna and John R. Mohler Awards at the Loyola College Athletics Awards Banquet on Monday night.

Stone, a member of the women's lacrosse team took home the highest honor for a female senior student-athlete, while Richards represented the men's lacrosse team with the top male senior student-athlete award.

The Lagna Award is given annually by the Varcalle family to a senior female student-athlete who has achieved a strong academic standing, as well as significant athletic accomplishment.

Stone was a four-year standout on the women's lacrosse team, earning All BIG-EAST First Team honors in both her junior and senior season. A regional All-America selection, she led the team in groundballs and caused turnovers the past two seasons. This year, she leads the BIG EAST in ground balls (38) and is second with 26 caused turnovers.

The Mohler Award is presented annually to a senior male student-athlete who has excelled in the areas of athletics, scholarship and character.

Richards, a four-year starter and team captain, fits that description. With one week left in the regular season, he ranks nationally in groundballs per game, and for his career, has 150 groundballs, 28 goals and 26 assists.

Like the Lagna and Mohler Awards, the Athletic Department's Medals of Merit Awards recognize student-athletes who have combined academic and athletic excellence. This year's winners were Nicole Yaeger from the women's crew team and Scott Gannon from the men's tennis team.

Yaeger was a captain of the crew team and helped the women's varsity eight and varsity pair boats win silver medals at the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference Championships, and she led the varsity four boat to the bronze medal. Yeager is a member of Loyola's Financial Management Association (FMA) Honor Society and the Student-Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC). She earned MAAC All-Academic Honors the last three years and was named to the Dean's List in the Fall and Spring of 2007.

Gannon was a four-year letterwinner and three-time captain of Loyola's men's tennis team. He earned team Most Valuable Player honors as a junior and senior when he played No. 1 singles and No. 1 doubles. He helped the Greyhounds win 38 matches over his four seasons with the team.

Loyola's Fr. Francis McManamin Unsung Hero Awards were each awarded to two exemplary male and female student-athletes this year. Women's lacrosse player Alicyn Brunnett and women's basketball player Tynisha Davis shared the women's award, while men's basketball player Michael Tuck and men's lacrosse player David Moore split the men's honor.

Brunnett was a four-year member and three-year starter on the women's lacrosse team. This season, she was the `quarterback' of the offense and set career highs in goals, assists and total points. Davis started as a senior for the women's basketball team, and her explosive scoring ability was a key factor to the Greyhounds' success.

Tuck became one of only four Greyhounds all-time to score more than 900 points (995) and grab more than 600 rebounds (616). He finished his career fourth all-time in field-goal percentage (.535) and was named to the All-MAAC Second Team this season. Moore is a four-year letterwinner and starter on close defense for the men's lacrosse team. A captain as a senior helped the Greyhounds young defense to the Greyhounds' best season in ECAC history.

Other award winners on Monday night included senior swimmer and men's tennis player Doug Alban, who was honored with the Diane Geppi-Aikens Inspiration Award for overcoming obstacles and adversity. Tess Drazdowski of the women's swimming and diving team earned the distinction of Top Senior Grade Point Average. The women's soccer team took home the top team grade point average, as well.

Team Most Valuable Most Dedicated
Men's Basketball Gerald Brown Michael Tuck
Women's Basketball Megan Wood Megan Wood
Men's Crew Devin Marsicovetere Zach Reichenbach
Women's Crew Nicole Yaeger Christine Drennan
Men's Cross Country Chris Heibell Brian Parker
Dan McDevitt
Women's Cross Country Maureen Wynne Bethany Gentry
Lindsay Wilson
Men's Golf Chris Derby Michael Mulieri
Men's Lacrosse Shane Koppens Paul Richards
David Moore
Women's Lacrosse Kate Filippelli Kristen Stone
Men's Soccer Milos Kocic Julian Cantillo
Women's Soccer Brynn McGrath Sarra Moller
Men's Swimming & Diving Jacob Drannan Zach Oster
Women's Swimming & Diving Caitlin Cassidy Megen Hadley
Men's Tennis Scott Gannon Matt McDaniel
Women's Tennis Lauren Cassle Stephanie Dunn
Women's Track & Field Melanie Mitchell
Maureen Wynne
Kim Amaducci
Women's Volleyball Chrissey Cruz
Nina Camaioni
Anastasia Collins
Cheerleading Kristin Schweitzer Amanda Sund



Latest Tweets

More Headlines
There are no upcoming events.