Skip to main content Skip to footer

Cottle Named To IMLCA Hall Of Fame

Dave Cottle has been named to the IMLCA Hall of Fame.
July 29, 2017

AVON, Conn. - Dave Cottle, the winningest men’s lacrosse coach in Loyola history, has been named to the Intercollegiate Men’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IMLCA) Hall of Fame Class of 2017, the national organization announced on Friday.

Cottle posted a record of 181-70 (.721) over 19 seasons from 1983-2001 at Loyola. He guided the college’s transition to NCAA Division I status and led the Greyhounds to 18-straight winning seasons (1984-2001) and 14-straight NCAA Tournament berths (1988-2001).

The Annapolis, Maryland, resident was named to the Loyola Athletics Hall of Fame in 2014 and is also a member of the US Lacrosse Greater Baltimore Chapter’s Hall of Fame and the Salisbury Unviersity Athletics Hall of Fame.

In 1988, Cottle was named the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) Coach of the Year, and in 1990 he led the Greyhounds to their first appearances in the NCAA Semifinals and NCAA Championship Game. In all, he directed Loyola to 11 NCAA Quarterfinals appearances and its first two NCAA Semifinal bids.

Cottle, who current serves as a color commentator for Loyola’s Patriot League Network broadcasts, is one of only two Loyola men’s lacrosse coaches with more than 100 wins or a .650-plus winning percentage. The Greyhounds’ current head coach, Charley Toomey, who played at Loyola for Cottle from 1987-90, is 121-60 (.669) over the last 12 years.

He departed Loyola and became the head coach at the University of Maryland where he amassed a 99-45 record from 2002-10. Cottle now serves as the general manager of Major League Lacrosse’s Chesapeake Bayhawks.

Cottle and the rest of the Class of 2017 will be formally inducted to the IMLCA Hall of Fame on Friday, December 8, at the Baltimore Marriott Waterfront. He is joined in the class by Avery Blake Sr. (Swarthmore College, University of Pennsylvania), Tom Hayes (Drexel University, Rutgers University), Sid Jamieson (Bucknell University), Jack Kaley (New York Institute of Technology), Dick Szlasa (United States Naval Academy, Washington and Lee, Towson University), and Morris Touchstone (United States Military Academy, Yale University).






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


proud sponsors of greyhound athletics