Skip to main content Skip to simple nav

Loyola Men's Basketball Announces Non-Conference Slate

Erik Etherly and the Greyhounds will host five non-conference games at Reitz Arena.

Erik Etherly and the Greyhounds will host five non-conference games at Reitz Arena.

Aug. 2, 2012

2012-2013 Men's Basketball Non-Conference Schedule

BALTIMORE - Loyola University Maryland will open its 2012 men's basketball slate with a regular-season game on Friday, November 9, at home against Binghamton, the first of five non-conference games that are part of a 13-game schedule.

The Greyhounds' Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference schedule will be announced this fall. Times and television coverage for non-conference games will also be announced later, and dates are subject to change.

"Last year, our non-conference games really prepared us for MAAC play," Head Coach Jimmy Patsos said. "We grew as a team, learned how to handle travel, get through some adversity, and it made a difference in getting the No. 2 seed in the MAAC tournament and to eventually win the MAAC title.

"This year's schedule will do the same thing, as we are playing at Washington, Rhode Island and Memphis, have tough games against our local rivals, see a familiar face on the sideline to open the season against Binghamton, go to Florida for against an up-and-coming program and then take on Bucknell who is one of the top teams in its league."

Loyola will celebrate its 2012 MAAC title and raise a banner to recognize the accomplishment when the Greyhounds host the Bearcats in the regular-season opener. The game will also be the first at Binghamton for a coach familiar with the Greyhounds. Tommy Dempsey coached at MAAC foe Rider for seven years prior to going to Binghamton this spring.

Prior to that game, Loyola will host an exhibition game against NCAA Division II program Seton Hill on Monday, November 5.

The Greyhounds will also participate in the 2012 Hall of Fame Tip-Off Tournament that culminates at Mohegan Sun Arena in Ucansville, Conn., November 17-18. Loyola will play its first-ever game in the Pacific Northwest on Sunday, November 11, when it takes on Washington in the first game of the tournament.


 

 

After returning to Baltimore, the Greyhounds host cross-town rival UMBC on Wednesday, November 14. Last season, Patsos won his 100th career game in Loyola's meeting with the Retrievers.

Loyola will take on fellow NCAA Tournament participant Norfolk State on Saturday, November 17, at Mohegan Sun, and the winner of that game will face the winner of a contest between Missouri-Kansas City and Albany in the Hall of Fame Tournament Springfield Bracket, on Sunday, November 18. Saturday's losers will meet in a consolation game.

Rhode Island will host Loyola on Friday, November 23, and the Greyhounds return to Reitz Arena for a Monday, November 26, date with Towson.

Two days later, on Wednesday, November 28, Loyola will play another Baltimore-area school, Coppin State, on the Eagles' home court.

The month of December starts in Fort Myers, Fla., where the Greyhounds will take on Florida Gulf Coast on Saturday, December 1.

MAAC action will start the following week before the team takes a break for final exams.

Non-conference action resumes on Saturday, December 15, with the 168th all-time meeting between Loyola and Mount St. Mary's. This year's tilt will take place in Reitz Arena.

The game against The Mount will be the final contest before Christmas, and Loyola returns from the break on Friday, December 28, to host Patriot League Regular-Season Champion Bucknell. Last year, in Lewisburg, Pa., the Greyhounds snapped the Bison's 18-game home-court winning streak.

Loyola's final game before 2013 will take place in Tennessee where it will face Memphis on Sunday, December 30.

MAAC action will start again early in January, and the final non-conference game of the regular-season will take place for the Greyhounds go on the road for a Bracketbuster contest the weekend of February 22-24.

Springfield, Mass., and the MassMutual Center will again host the MAAC Championships. This season's event will take place Friday-Monday, March 8-11.

Day Date Opponent H/A/N Location
Mon. Nov. 5 Seton Hill (exhibition) H Reitz Arena
Fri. Nov. 9 Binghamton H Reitz Arena
Sun. Nov. 11 Washington A Seattle Wash.
Sat. Nov. 17 Norfolk State N Uncasville, Conn.
Sun. Nov. 18 Missouri-Kansas City or Albany N Uncasville, Conn.
Fri. Nov. 23 Rhode Island A Kingston, R.I.
Mon. Nov. 26 Towson H Reitz Arena
Wed. Nov. 28 Coppin State A Baltimore, Md.
Sat. Dec. 1 Florida Gulf Coast A Fort Myers, Fla.
Sat. Dec. 15 Mount St. Mary's H Reitz Arena
Fri. Dec. 28 Bucknell H Reitz Arena
Sun. Dec. 30 Memphis A Memphis, Tenn.
Fri.-Sun. Feb. 22-24 Bracketbuster A TBA
Fri.-Mon. March 8-11 MAAC Championships N Springfield, Mass.

Latest Tweets

More Headlines
Calendar
Sunday, Dec 21
EVENT LOCATION TIME COVERAGE
Stony Brook Stony Brook, N.Y. L, 67-52 Video
Sunday, Dec 28
EVENT LOCATION TIME COVERAGE
Fairfield Brooklyn, N.Y. 5:00 PM
Wednesday, Dec 31
EVENT LOCATION TIME COVERAGE
Navy Annapolis, Md. 4:00 PM Video
Saturday, Jan 3
EVENT LOCATION TIME COVERAGE
Army Reitz Arena 2:00 PM Video
Wednesday, Jan 7
EVENT LOCATION TIME COVERAGE
American Reitz Arena 7:30 PM Video
Saturday, Jan 10
EVENT LOCATION TIME COVERAGE
Lehigh Bethlehem, Pa. 2:00 PM Video

GreyhoundLinks