Skip to main content Skip to footer

Women's Swimming & Diving Wins H2ounds Invitational, Men Take Second

Anne Hayburn was named Co-Most Outstanding Female Swimmer of the Meet.
Dec. 2, 2017

Complete Results

BALTIMORE - Sophomore Annie Hayburn won three individual events and was part of three victorious relay teams as she led the Loyola University Maryland women's swimming and diving team to a first-place finish at the H2ounds Invitational at the Mangione Aquatics Center on Saturday afternoon. At the same time, senior Ben Cono broke two of his own school records and a Patriot League record, leading the men's swimming and diving team to a second-place finish behind Marist.

Hayburn and Cono shared the Female and Male Most Outstanding Performer of the Meet Awards, respectively, for their performances. Hayburn earned the award with Sara Nestrowitz of Marist. The Red Foxes' Evan Nilsson shared the men's award with Cono.

The Greyhound women's team won the championship with 1,171 points, topping Marist (892) for the title. Iona finished third with 824 points, while Mount St. Mary's (479) and Saint Peter's (160) completed the field.

In the men's competition, the Greyhounds were a close second behind Marist. The Red Foxes won the title with 1,074 points while Loyola had 1,025 points. Iona took third place with 629 points while Saint Peter's was fourth (382.5); Mount St. Mary's finished fifth (380.5).

Cono set a pair of school and pool records Saturday, taking top honors in both the 100 and 200 breaststrokes and earning NCAA `B' Qualifying Standards in each. John Callaghan also registered a `B' Qualifying Standard in the 100 breaststroke.

Three members of the women's swimming and diving team -- Devin Cronin, Emily Koegl and Emma Schouten -- set school records on Saturday. Cronin also tied a record, and the 400 medley relay team of Hayburn, Koegl, Megan Dickey and Cronin set another on Friday.

Hayburn, who part of the first place 400 medley relay team on Friday, contributed to Loyola's 200 medley relay and 400 freestyle relay wins on Saturday. She helped sophomore Emily Koegl, sophomore Devin Cronin and freshman Megan Dickey win the 200 medley relay with a time of 1:45.22. In the 400 freestyle relay, freshman Emma Schouten, sophomore Alden Coyne and Dickey teamed up with Hayburn to win the event in a time of 3:32.03.

The Greyhound women did very well in the relays on Saturday. Schouten, Cronin, Gabrielle Clarkson and Dickey won the 200 freestyle relay (1:36.54), and Loyola's "B" team of Aly Pacitti, Amy Martinelli, Jenna Egan and Coyne took fourth place (1:38.94).

The "B" teams also finished well in the 200 medley relay and the 400 freestyle relay. In the 200 medley relay, Egan, Coyne, Grace Huckenpoelher and Clarkson took third place. In the 400 freestyle relay, Brooke Sharkey, Egan, Clarkson and Pacitti placed fourth (3:39.07).

Hayburn won her first individual title when she took first place in the 100 butterfly with a time of 56.78, edging out Koegl (57.31), while Huckenpoehler took fourth place (58.36). Hayburn also took first in the 100 backstroke with a time of 57.92, and Egan finished third (58.95).

In the 200 backstroke, Hayburn won her third event with a time of 2:03.97. Egan was runner-up (2:05.10) in the race.

Cronin, who tied the school record in the 200 individual medley on Friday, set a school record in the 100 breaststroke on Saturday. She won the event with a time of 1:03.45, and Schouten finished third (1:04.50).

Schouten provided Loyola with another record-setting performance when she won the 200 breaststroke (2:16.22), edging Cronin who was second with a time of 2:19.11.

Senior Madalyn Myers was a double-winner on Saturday as she won the 400 individual medley (4:29.63) and the 200 butterfly (2:05.80). Emily O'Halloran was third in the 400 individual medley (4:39.61) while Huckenpoehler took second in the 200 butterfly (2:07.60) and Alexa Stewart placed third (2:07.99).

Dickey, who won the 50 freestyle on Friday, picked up another title when she won the 100 freestyle (51.67). Dickey led an impressive performance by the Greyhounds in the 100 freestyle as Loyola claimed four of the top five spots. Coyne was third (53.90) and Sharkey was fourth (54.16). Koegl was fifth (54.31).

Koegl set a school record in a time trial of the 100 individual medley, clocking a time of 58.68 to drop more than a half-second off the record she set last year.

In the three-meter diving for women, junior Lindsay Staszewski bounced back from her third-place showing in the one-meter dive by winning the three-meter title with 271.43 points. Senior Maggie Garrahan scored 197.70 points and finished fifth.

Senior Alyssa Gialamas of Loyola set a new American Paralympic record in the S5 200 backstroke (3:13.36). It was the second day in a row she set a record after establishing the new American record in the S5 500 freestyle on Friday.

In the men's competition, Cono broke his own school records in the 100 breaststroke (52.27) and the 200 breaststroke (1:56.75), winning both events. His 100 breaststroke time is ranked third in the nation among times coming into this weekend, and it also set a pool record and broke his previous Patriot League record.

Junior John Callaghan finished second in the 100 breaststroke (55.05), earning an NCAA 'B' cut mark. Sophomore Jay Venit placed fourth in the 100 breaststroke (57.05).

In the 200 breaststroke, Cono and Callaghan finished one-two. Callaghan was second with a time of 2:02.30. Cono's time is also an NCAA 'B' standard time. Senior Chris Cary placed third (2:09.03).

Cono also contributed to the Greyhounds' first-place finish in the 200 medley relay. He teamed up with senior Alec Speradino, sophomore Zac Metzler and freshman Patrick Clisham to win the event with a time of 1:32.07. The "B" team, made up of freshman Mark Boran, Callaghan, freshman Conor Rutigliano, and Ross Caudle, finished second with a time of 1:33.55.

Loyola also got a first-place performance from its 200 freestyle relay team. Clisham, Cary, Kolar and Speradino won the event with a time of 1:24.44. The "B" team of Rutigliano, Phillip Jones, Xander Chan and Caudle was fifth (1:26.50).

In the 400 freestyle relay, Speradino, Clisham, Kolar and Cono finished second (3:05.32).

Metzler earned an individual title when he won the 100 butterfly with a time of 50.90. Clisham was second (50.99) while Rutigliano was fifth (51.23). Metzler later took third place in the 200 butterfly with a time of 1:52.55.

Speradino gave the Greyhounds another first place showing when he won the 100 backstroke (50.78). Boran was third with a time of 52.08. Speradino also swam well in the 100 freestyle as he tied for second place with Daniel Knoll of Marist (46.18). Clisham finished fourth (46.37), while Kolar was fifth (46.71).

In the 200 backstroke, Boran was the runner-up (1:51.04) while Rutigliano finished fourth (1:53.12). Freshman Josh Gluck led the Greyhounds in the 400 individual medley, finishing fourth with a time of 4:11.51.

Kolar swam in fifth place in the 200 freestyle (1:44.79), just ahead of Cary who was sixth (1:44.99).

In the one-meter diving, Adrian Halarewicz finished third with 212.00 points. Sam Baluzy took fourth place with 210.00 points.

In the 400 freestyle relay, Speradino, Clisham, Kolar and Cono placed second (3:05.32).

Isabelle Gervasio of Marist was honored as the Diver of the Meet for the women while Peter Gallino and Raisian Aiken of Marist shared the Diver of the Meet for the men.

The Greyhounds will not return to action until Monday, January 15 when they host LaSalle University at Mangione Pool at 12:00 noon.






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


proud sponsors of greyhound athletics