Skip to main content Skip to footer

Cono Named Patriot League Male Swimmer Of The Meet After Winning 2nd Title

Ben Cono was named Patriot League Male Swimmer of the Meet.
Ben Cono was named Patriot League Male Swimmer of the Meet.
Feb. 17, 2018

Saturday's Results | Complete Results Get Acrobat Reader

ANNAPOLIS, Md. - Led by senior Ben Cono, who captured his first 200 breaststroke championship with a time of 1:55.69, the Loyola University men's swimming and diving team matched their best finish ever at a Patriot League swimming championship meet by finishing fifth at the U.S. Naval Academy's Lejeune Hall on Saturday. The women's team turned in a strong sixth-place showing, also matching its best finish ever.

Cono became the first Loyola swimmer to earn Patriot League Male Swimmer of the Meet honors since the Greyhounds joined the conference in 2013-2014.

Cono's title was the fourth of his career and first in the 200 breaststroke. He won the 100 breaststroke on Friday night, his third in as many years. On Friday night, Cono broke the Patriot League and school records by winning the 100 breaststroke title with a time of 52.21. It was Cono's third consecutive Patriot League title in the 100 breaststroke.

On his way to winning the race, he beat Navy's Brayden Lauffer by nearly two full seconds (1:57.65). John Callaghan of Loyola, who was runner-up to Cono in the 100 breaststroke on Friday night, took ninth place in the 200 breast with a time of 2:01.64; Luca DiCapua of Loyola finished 16th (2:08.61).

The men's team finished with 286.5 points, edging Lehigh University by four points for fifth. Loyola's women finished with 250.5 points. Navy won both the men's and women's titles.

Freshman Emma Schouten led the women's team to its second consecutive fifth place finish as she became a NCAA "B" cut qualifier and broke the school record in the 200 breaststroke. In the finals, she finished third with a school-record time of 2:14.49. She had also broken the mark in the prelims with a time of 2:15.68 earlier on Saturday.

In the men's 1650 freestyle on Saturday, freshman Ben Amoreno was the Greyhounds' top swimmer, finishing 17th with a time of 16:12.59.

Freshman Mark Boran scored for the Greyhounds in the 200 backstroke, taking eighth with a time of 1:50.95. Another freshman, Conor Rutigliano took 14th place (1:51.59). Sophomore Zachary Metzler was the Greyhounds' top performer in the 200 butterfly, taking 14th place with a time of 1:51.23.

In the final race of the championship, the Greyhounds' men's team took sixth in the 400 freestyle relay  -- Cono, Colin Anderson, Brendon Kolar and Alec Sperandio -- with a time of 3:04.06.

Junior Elizabeth Romano led the women's team in the 1650 freestyle. She finished 18th with a time of 17:54.71. Freshman Alexa Stewart took 21st place with a time of 18:05.85.

Freshman Megan Dickey swam 51.37 to place 12th in the 100 freestyle.

Lindsey Staszewski had a seventh-place finish for the Greyhounds in the women's 3-meter diving event. She scored 240.35 points, while Maggie Garrahan was 16th with 188.85 points.

In their final women's event of the meet, the Greyhounds' 400 freestyle relay team of Brooke Sharkey, Aly Pacitti, Gabrielle Clarkson and Dickey combined to swim 3:30.42 for an eight-place finish. 

In the men's preliminaries on Saturday, Boran qualified for the finals in the 200 backstroke with a time of 1:49.00. Rutigliano placed 16th with a time of 1:53.31 while freshman Josh Gluck was 24th (1:57.56). Sophomore Richard Kogut placed 25th (1:57.56).

Anderson and senior Speradino led Loyola in the 100 freestyle by finishing 21st and 22nd respectively. Anderson had a time of 46.37 while Speradino posted a time of 46.38. Kolar and freshman Patrick Clisham also competed in the 100 freestyle. Kolar was 24th (46.47) and Clisham finished 27th (46.73).

In the 200 breaststroke prelims, Cono was first and Callaghan was ninth, just like they finished in the finals. DiCapua was also 16th. Senior Chris Cary took 18th place (2:08.91), ahead of sophomore Jay Venit, who was 21st (2:10.93). 

In the prelims for the 200 butterfly, Metzler finished tenth with a time of 1:50.33. Sophomore John Sakovich finished in 20th place (1:53.59) while senior Andrew Mann was 22nd (1:54.92). Kogut took 27th place (1:56.04) to round out Loyola's entries.

In the women's preliminaries on Saturday, sophomore Anne Hayburn led the women's team with a 17th place finish in the 200 backstroke (2:04.44). Senior Jenna Egan was 22nd in the 200 back (2:06.13) while sophomore Emily O'Halloran took 30th place with a time of 2:11.36.

In the women's 100 freestyle, Dickey placed ninth (51.19) while junior Brooke Sharkey finished 22nd (52.64). Junior Aly Pacitti took 30th place (53.42) while Gabrielle Clarkson was 31st (53.48). Sophomore Alden Coyne rounded out the Greyhounds' contingent by finishing 35th (53.75).

While Schouten set a school record in the 200 breaststroke, sophomore Devin Cronin finished 16th (2:24.25), just ahead of teammate Emily Koegl (2:24.52). Senior Kalie Coyne was 24th (2:26.75). 

In the 200 butterfly for the women, junior Grace Huckenpoehler was the Greyhounds' top swimmer. She finished 19th with a time of 2:06.82. Senior Maddie Myers turned in a 21st place performance with a time of 2:07.39. Freshman Mary Catherine Clark was 27th (2:09.74) and Stewart took 28th place (2:10.10).






  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


proud sponsors of greyhound athletics