Skip to main content Skip to footer


Loyola University Maryland hosts an annual swim meet in memory of former swimming and diving head coach Thomas Murphy. Murph, as many knew him, coached the Loyola swim team for over 25 years before becoming the assistant athletic director at what was then known as Loyola College. A mentor and friend, Murphy was diagnosed with cancer and passed away in 1999.

The Thomas J. Murphy, Jr. Scholarship Fund, therefore, was established in 1999 through the generosity of friends and family in memory of Tom Murphy (B.A. 1959 and M.Ed 1968). The scholarship was established to assist a student who is on the swimming and diving team and is to be awarded based upon their academic performance and financial need. The recipient is announced every year at the Thomas Murphy Invitational.

Past winners of the award include:
2016 - Madalyn Myers
2015 - Cara Egan
2014 - Brianna Keelan
2013 - Bryan Bedacht
2012 - Bryan Bedacht
2011 - Tony Florida
2010 - William Jackson
2009 - Ozzy Torres
2008 - Lindsay Comodore
2007 - Patrick Hicks
2006 - Laura Hanlon
2005 - Melissa Birkenmeier
2004 - Melissa Birkenmeier
2003 - Chris Berger
2002 - Emily Dietrich




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


proud sponsors of greyhound athletics