Skip to main content Skip to footer

Three First-Place Finishes Highlight Performances At Frostbite Regatta

Eleni Papadatos
Nov. 7, 2015

PHILADELPHIA - The Loyola University Maryland men's and women's crew teams took home three first-place medals Saturday afternoon at the Frostbite Regatta.

"I'm very pleased with our performances," head coach Al Ramirez said. "Today's races were very encouraging and show promise for the spring. The novices showed themselves to be contenders against the traditionally strong Philadelphia crews. We're still very young in the eight's, but I'm happy with our racing mentality."

The novice eight crew of Natasha Lobo, Mia Gioia, Rhys Schueren, Corinne Conyngham, Meaghan Kaiser, Claudia Fleshman, Nikki D'Andrea, Aubrey Lewis and coxswain Emma Sharon highlighted the women's races, taking first in open water with a time of 8:20.90.

Lane, Gioia, Lobo, Conyngham and cox Hana You also competed in the novice four race. The Greyhounds took fourth and crossed the finish line in 9:39.12.

The veteran female rowers raced in two separate varsity four boats. Eleni Papadatos, Natasha Murray, Lauren Howe, Keenan Gibbons and coxswain Serena Rivera took fifth in flight one with a time of 7:54.05, while Glennith Capone, Emily Mansour, Kristin Wawrzynski, Nona Sharp and coxswain Tara Villaruel finished fourth in flight three with a time of 8:45.98.



Papadatos, Murray, Howe, Mansour, Wawrzynski, Gibbons, Lane, Sharp and Rivera later competed in the varsity eight race, taking second place in 7:29.13.

Earlier in the morning, Sara Wilton and Capone took second in the women's double flight. The duo came across the finish line in 9:38.97.

On the men's side, the lightweight four boat took first and came in ahead of crews from Lafayette, Maryland and Binghamton. Robert Moore, Patrick Bohen, John Dougherty, Liam Marmo and cox Patrick Flynn recorded a final race time of 7:00.80.

Loyola's freshmen eight crew of Ryan Elliott, Erik Magnuson, Jacob Landis, Nick Trautwein, Kunle' Soniregun, Chris Rynne, Nicholas Perrotta, Brandon Hutchinson and coxswain Mike Russo also took first out of six crews. The Greyhounds finished the race in 6:51.81.

The men's varsity four boat (Ryan Brown, Ryan Scott, David Dukenik, Joseph Yacobucci and coxswain Rachel Yuhas) took second behind the New York Maritime crew. The Greyhounds crossed the finish line in 7:05.80.

In Loyola's final race of the day, Bohen, Scott, Brown, Yacobucci, Dukenik, Moore, Dougherty, Marmo and Flynn took fifth in the men's varsity eight race. The crew finished with a final race time of 6:26.63.

The Greyhounds close out the 2015 fall season Sunday at the Bill Braxton Memorial Regatta in Mercer Lake, New Jersey.




  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago


proud sponsors of greyhound athletics