Volleyball Starts 2014 Slate At La Salle Invitational

Aug. 27, 2014

Tournament Information
Game Notes Loyola  Get Acrobat Reader
Location Philadelphia, Pennsylvania | Tom Gola Arena
Getting There Directions
Opponent Coppin State Eagles
Date Friday, August 29, 2014
Time 4:00 p.m.
Online Media Live Stats
Opponent NJIT Highlanders
Date Saturday, August 30, 2014
Time 2:00 p.m.
Online Media Live Stats
Opponent La Salle Explorers
Date Saturday, August 30, 2014
Time 7:00 p.m.
Online Media Live Stats

Coming Up This Weekend   
  • Loyola University Maryland volleyball opens its 2014 season at the La Salle Invitational in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Friday and Saturday, Aug. 29-30.
  • The Greyhounds will take on nearby Coppin State University on Friday at 4 o’clock before facing NJIT and the host Explorers on Saturday at 2 and 7 o’clock, respectively. All matches will take place in La Salle’s Tom Gola Arena.

Back On The Court   
  • Seven Greyhounds who saw action on the court last season return to the court this year for Head Coach Jake Lawrence, and another who missed the 2014 campaign will be back, as well.
  • Setter Lauren Andersen is back as Loyola’s setter for the fourth year in a row, while Mindy Maloney returns as a starting middle blocker for her fourth season, and Kara Schiffer will serve again as a primary libero for the Greyhounds.
  • Andersen enters the 2014 season with 2,758 assists, and Maloney finished last year fifth in the Patriot League with a .316 hitting percentage. Schiffer topped Loyola with 277 digs in 2013.
  • Four sophomores – Micah Duzey, Emma Falk, Jane Lukas and Kelly McShea – are also back after contributing on the floor last season. Lauren Youngblood, also a member of last year’s freshman class, will see her first collegiate action after sitting out last season with an injury.

Joining The ’Hounds   

Patriot League Picks   
  • Loyola was picked to finish sixth in the Patriot League through a poll of conference coaches and sports information directors. American University, which advanced to last year’s NCAA Round of 16, was the unanimous choice to win the conference, followed by Colgate University, the U.S. Military Academy, Lehigh University, the U.S. Naval Academy and the Greyhounds. Bucknell University, College of the Holy Cross and Lafayette College rounded out the League poll.