Schiro, Haracic Earn Top Honors From MAAC

Nov. 1, 2012

View on a mobile device

POUGHKEEPSIE, N.Y. - Senior forward Nichole Schiro was named the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference Offensive Player of the Year for the third straight year, and she, along with five other Greyhounds received All-MAAC honors Thursday.

Schiro became the first MAAC player in the history of the conference to win the same individual award three years in a row (she was the co-recipient in 2010).  The senior has recorded 14 goals in the 2012 season and has shattered the school's career record with 51 goals and 117 points, the most of any women's soccer player in Loyola history.

Schiro has been named MAAC Offensive Player of the Week seven times in her career, with three Eastern College Athletic Conference weekly honors. The Okemos, Mich., native is the third Greyhound to receive the Offensive Player of the Year award.

Junior goalkeeper Didi Haracic won Goalkeeper of the Year honors. The veteran keeper played in all 19 regular season games, logging 1,719 minutes with 89 saves and a .832 save percentage. Haracic allowed just 18 goals for a 0.94 goals-against-average. 

The No. 3 seed Greyhounds, had four players on the All-MAAC First Team. Schiro and Haracic join seniors Kelsey Rene and Gigi Mangione. The two combined for two goals and five assists, as Rene anchored the Greyhounds' defense from her center-back position, and Mangione initiated offensive play from her position at the top of the midfield.

Tessa McClenahan earned All-MAAC Second Team honors, as well. The senior played in 18 of the 19 regular season games and scored two goals and had two assists from the defensive midfield.

The Greyhounds had one freshman named to the All-MAAC Rookie Team. Rosy Hayes started in 16 of the 17 games during her rookie season, stepping in as a key defensive player at center back.

Loyola, which is the third seed in this weekend's MAAC Championships, will take on No. 2 seed Fairfield University on Friday, Nov. 2 at 5 p.m. in the MAAC Semifinals at Marist College. The winner of the game will play Sunday for the MAAC title.