Moller Joins Loyola Women's Soccer Staff

June 1, 2009

BALTIMORE - A familiar face will return to the Loyola College Women's Soccer sidelines this fall when former standout defender Sarra Moller trades in her No. 8 jersey for a coaches shirt.

Moller, who was named the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference Defensive Player of the Year in 2005 and 2008, joins the staff as an assistant coach, effective June 1, Head Coach Katherine Vettori announced.

"Sarra had a tremendous playing career at Loyola, and I know she will bring that same intense passion, dedication and knowledge of the game to coaching," Vettori said. "I am ecstatic for her to join the staff because she is such a student of the game and wants to share that desire to win with others."

Moller wrapped up her stellar Loyola playing career last fall by earning All-MAAC First Team honors for the fourth-consecutive year. She became the fourth player in Greyhound women's soccer history to be a four-year honoree by the conference.

A two-year captain, Moller helped the Greyhounds to a 29-1-6 record against MAAC opponents in regular-season play. She earned All-Mid-Atlantic Region Second Team honors from the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) following her senior season and was a third team member following the 2005 campaign.

"It is very exciting to stay with this team and watch them continue to grow," Moller said. "Loyola women's soccer means a lot to me, and I am glad that I get to start my coaching career with a team that I believe in as much as this. I hope to be able to help continue the success the team has experienced on the field, and I thank Loyola athletics for this opportunity."

In addition to the honors from the MAAC and NSCAA, Moller was a member of the SoccerBuzz Magazine All-Mid-Atlantic Region three times, picking up second team laurels in 2005 and 2008 and third team honors in 2006.

Moller received the highest honor for a Loyola female student-athlete last month. She was named the 2008-2009 winner of the Ernest Lagna Award for excellence in academics, athletics and community service at the College end-of-the-year athletics' banquet.