News

Women's Soccer Announces 2011 Schedule

March 3, 2011

Purchase Women's Soccer single-game and season tickets!

BALTIMORE - The Loyola University Maryland women's soccer team will face six teams who competed in the 2010 NCAA College Cup when it takes the field for the 2011 season, Head Coach Katherine Vettori announced today.

In addition to an October 14 date with Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference champion Siena, the Greyhounds will face five College Cup participants - Boston University, High Point, Maryland, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest - during the non-conference portion of their schedule.

"We think we have one of the most difficult non-conference schedule we've had here at Loyola," Vettori said. "We are looking forward to opening our home schedule with Maryland and getting some good results in the out of conference portion to prepare for conference play."

Loyola opens the 2011 campaign on Saturday, August 20 at nearby Towson, and two days later, the Greyhounds will host Maryland under the lights at Ridley Athletic Complex.

The weekend of August 26-28 will take Loyola to Boston where it will face Northeastern and Boston University, and the Greyhounds will then host a pair of matches over Labor Day weekend. High Point comes to Ridley on Friday, September 2, before Saint Louis visits on Sunday, September 4.

The Greyhounds will participate in the Virginia Tech Tournament, taking on Wake Forest on Friday, September 9, and then facing the host Hokies on Sunday, September 11.

A match at home against American on Wednesday, September 21, and a road contest at La Salle two days later closes non-conference action before MAAC play begins for the Greyhounds on Saturday, October 1, against Rider.

Loyola travels to the Buffalo area for games at Canisius and Niagara on Friday, October 7, and Sunday, October 9, respectively. Loyola then returns to Ridley to host Siena and Marist, Friday, October 14, and Sunday, October 16.

The final road games of the regular season for the Greyhounds are at Fairfield on Friday, October 21, and at Iona on Sunday, October 23.

They close the regular season at home, hosting Manhattan on Friday, October 28, and Saint Peter's on Sunday, October 30.

Loyola will host the MAAC Championships for the second year in a row at Ridley. The semifinals will take place on Friday, November 4, with the Championship Game on Sunday, November 6.

The Greyhounds also announced a slate of spring 2011 scrimmages. They will play at American on Saturday, March 26, and host George Washington on Sunday, April 3. Both games will take place at 12 o'clock.

Loyola will then travel to Germantown, Md., to participate in the Kicks Against Breast Cancer Tournament on Saturday, April 9, at the Maryland Soccerplex. The Greyhounds open competition in the tournament against Villanova at 9 a.m.

The Greyhounds then play host to Towson on Thursday, April 14, at 7:30 p.m. before they close their spring schedule when an alumni event will be held for former Greyhounds on Saturday, April 16, at 12:30 p.m., at Ridley.

 

Day Date Opponent Location H/A/N Time
Fri. Aug. 12 Bucknell (Exhibition) Ridley Athletic Complex H 12 p.m.
Sat. Aug. 20 Towson Towson, Md. A 4 p.m.
Mon. Aug. 22 Maryland Ridley Athletic Complex H 7 p.m.
Fri. Aug. 26 Northeastern Boston, Mass. A 6 p.m.
Sun. Aug. 28 Boston University Boston, Mass. A 1 p.m.
Fri. Sept. 2 High Point Ridley Athletic Complex H 7 p.m.
Sun. Sept. 4 Saint Louis Ridley Athletic Complex H 1 p.m.
Fri. Sept. 9 ^ Wake Forest Blacksburg, Va. N 5 p.m.
Sun. Sept. 11 ^ Virginia Tech Blacksburg, Va. A 2 p.m.
Wed. Sept. 21 American Ridley Athletic Complex H 5 p.m.
Fri. Sept. 23 La Salle Philadelphia, Pa. A 7 p.m.
Sat. Oct. 1 * Rider Ridley Athletic Complex H 1 p.m.
Fri. Oct. 7 * Canisius Buffalo, N.Y. A 7 p.m.
Sun. Oct. 9 * Niagara Niagara University, N.Y. A TBA
Fri. Oct. 14 * Siena Ridley Athletic Complex H 7 p.m.
Sun. Oct. 16 * Marist Ridley Athletic Complex H 1 p.m.
Fri. Oct. 21 * Fairfield Fairfield, Conn. A 7 p.m.
Sun. Oct. 23 * Iona New Rochelle, N.Y. A TBA
Fri. Oct. 28 * Manhattan Ridley Athletic Complex H 7 p.m.
Sun. Oct. 30 * Saint Peter's Ridley Athletic Complex H 1 p.m.
Fri. Nov. 4 ! MAAC Semifinals Ridley Athletic Complex H TBA
Sun. Nov. 6 ! MAAC Championship Ridley Athletic Complex H TBA

* - Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference game
^ - Virginia Tech Tournament (Blacksburg, Va.)
! - MAAC Championships (Ridley Athletic Complex; Baltimore, Md.)