Women's Soccer Rolls Past Canisius, 7-0, to Claim the Regular Season MAAC Title

Oct. 31, 2004

Box Score

Baltimore, Md. - The Loyola College women's soccer team posted an impressive 7-0 win over Canisius Sunday afternoon at Alumnae Field to claim the regular season Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference title. The Greyhounds finish the regular season undefeated in conference play at 9-0-0 and extend their winning streak to 11 games. Loyola is now 14-3-0 overall while the Golden Griffs finish the regular season 2-14-0 and 1-8-0 in the conference with the loss.

The Greyhounds dominated play early on when junior Naomi Daniels rebounded her own shot for an unassisted goal just 5:48 into the game for the 1-0 lead. Loyola senior Jeannetta McGettigan scored the next two goals within just over four minutes of each other for the 3-0 lead. McGettigan's first goal came at 28:01 when junior Lisa Jaffa fed her the ball from 35 feet out and McGettigan headed it past Canisius goal keeper Jenna Gage. At 32:31 McGettigan added her second goal when sophomore Carolyn Kennington crossed the ball in to her from the left side of the goal.

Early into the second half, the Greyhounds made the score 4-0 when junior Ali Andrzejewski rebounded her initial shot and passed it off to a waiting Ashley Kramer at 57:01. Andrzejewski tallied the fifth goal herself on a breakaway at 61:12. Freshman Tyhira Glenn continued the Loyola effort at 72:40 when her shot bounced off the Canisius relieving goal keeper, Lauren Reading for the 6-0 lead. Finally, senior defender Lindsay Tracey scored with just under two minutes remaining to play on a pass from Glenn.

Loyola finished the game with a staggering 37-3 advantage in shots and a 7-0 lead in corner kicks.

Senior Erica Niemann recorded the shutout in goal while Canisius' Gage was credited with five saves and Reading tallied two.

The Greyhounds now advance as the No. 1 seed in the MAAC Tournament to take place at Fairfield University beginning Friday, November 6. Loyola has claimed the last four conference championships to earn a berth into four straight NCAA College Cup's.