News

Women's Lacrosse Announces 2010 Season Schedule

Dec. 2, 2009

2010 Schedule

Baltimore, Md. - The Loyola women's lacrosse team will play seven home games in 2010, including five in its new facility, the Ridley Intercollegiate Athletic Complex, it was announced today by head coach Jen Adams. Among several highlights of the schedule include eight teams who were ranked in the final IWLCA/Under Armour national poll in 2009.

"We are excited for the 2010 season.  In addition to powerful BIG EAST conference match-ups, this schedule offers us a quality mix of top level opponents," said second-year head coach Jen Adams.

Loyola will open the year on a four-game road trip, beginning with a Valentine's Day matchup against Penn State, who finished the 2009 season 9-8 overall and ranked 15th in the final national poll.

Six days later, the Greyhounds will travel to the University of Virginia for a showdown against another highly-ranked team from the Atlantic Coast Conference.  Loyola will also travel to nearby UMBC and then Denver on the four-game swing.

Cross-town rival and back-to-back CAA Champion Towson will travel across Charles Street to Diane Geppi-Aikens Field for Loyola's home-opener on March 6. The matchup with the Tigers will be the 38th all-time meeting, the longest-standing rivalry in Loyola history dating back to the Greyhounds' inaugural 1973 season. Loyola leads the series 29-8 and are 14-4 against the Tigers at home.

The `Hounds will host its second CAA opponent, Delaware, three days later on March 9, which will be the last game the team will play at Diane Geppi-Aikens Field.

Following a road trip to Cornell, BIG EAST Conference rival, Rutgers will travel to Baltimore Tuesday, March 16 at 7:00 p.m. for the Greyhounds opener at the Ridley Intercollegiate Athletic Complex.

"We are honored to have such an incredible new home for Loyola Women's Lacrosse," remarked Adams.  "The move will be bittersweet for many Loyola fans and alumni as we also farewell the DGA field that has brought the program so many fond memories and successes."

Before facing the remainder of the BIG EAST schedule, Loyola will travel to James Madison March 20 and host Stony Brook on March 24.

The Greyhounds will then host BIG EAST members Cincinnati, 2009 conference champion Notre Dame and Villanova at Ridley, and travel to face Louisville, Syracuse, Connecticut and Georgetown.

Rutgers will host the Big East Tournament Finals on the sixth and eighth of May, with the top four seeds qualifying.

 

 

 

Day Date Opponent Time
Sun. Feb. 14 at Penn State 1 p.m.
Sat. Feb. 20 at Virginia 1 p.m.
Tue. Feb. 23 at UMBC 7 p.m.
Wed. Mar. 3 at Denver 1 p.m.
Sat. Mar. 6 TOWSON 1 p.m.
Tue. Mar. 9 DELAWARE 4 p.m.
Sat. Mar. 13 at Cornell 3 p.m.
Tue. Mar. 16 RUTGERS * 7 p.m.
Sat. Mar. 20 at James Madison 1 p.m.
Wed. Mar. 24 STONY BROOK 2 p.m.
Sat. Apr. 3 CINCINNATI * 12 p.m.
Mon. Apr. 5 NOTRE DAME * 12 p.m.
Fri. Apr. 9 at Louisville * 1 p.m.
Fri. Apr. 16 at Syracuse * 6 p.m.
Sun. Apr. 18 at Connecticut * 1 p.m.
Sat. Apr. 24 VILLANOVA * 1 p.m.
Wed. Apr. 28 at Georgetown * 7 p.m.
Thu./Sat. May 6/8 BIG EAST Tournament (at Rutgers)