Adams Named IWLCA Mid-Atlantic Region Coach Of The Year

Nov. 19, 2015

BALTIMORE - Loyola University Maryland head women's lacrosse coach Jen Adams was named the IWLCA Mid-Atlantic Region Coach of the Year and received her award at the 2015 Honors Banquet Thursday night as part of the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association's Annual Meetings at Disney's Coronado Springs Resort. 

Adams led the Greyhounds to their fourth conference title in five years and a fifth-straight NCAA Tournament appearance in 2015. With an 8-0 record in Patriot League play, Loyola ran its win streak to 16-straight games to break the League's record for consecutive wins and capture back-to-back regular season titles.

Coming off a second-straight Patriot League Championship, the Greyhounds put up 40 goals in wins over Bryant, 21-3, and fifth-seeded Boston College, 19-12, in the first and second rounds of the NCAA Championships, respectively, to mark the most goals by a team in back-to-back games since the tournament's inception in 1982. The upset victory at Boston College also marked Loyola's program-record 16th-straight win, giving the Greyhounds the longest active win streak in the nation at that time.

Throughout the year, Loyola knocked off three top-10 ranked Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) teams on the road, including No. 8 Virginia, 13-12 in overtime, ACC Champion and eighth-ranked Syracuse, 9-8, and fifth-seeded Boston College, 19-12. The win over the Cavaliers in Charlottesville, Virginia, marked Adams' first coaching win at Klöckner Stadium and sparked the 16-game win streak.

Under her guidance, three Greyhounds picked up All-America honors in 2015, while five were named to the IWLCA All-Mid-Atlantic Region team and seven garnered All-Patriot League accolades.

Maddy Lesher was named the Patriot League Defensive Player of the Year for a second-straight season, while Annie Thomas was tabbed the offensive player of the year for a second time and Taryn VanThof collected her first midfield player of the year honor from the Patriot League.

Kara Burke, the Patriot League Scholar-Athlete of the Year for women's lacrosse and Patriot League Tournament MVP, Bailey Mathis, Hannah Schmitt and Molly Wolf joined the trio on the All-Patriot League teams.

Lesher, Thomas and VanThof also earned All-America honors, while Schmitt and Wolf, who finished the season ranked second in the NCAA in save percentage (.517) and fourth in saves (180), rounded out the IWLCA All-Mid-Atlantic Region teams.

This marks Adams' fifth coaching honor and her third IWLCA Mid-Atlantic Region Coach of the Year selection. She also garnered regional coach of the year accolades in 2011 and 2012, and was named the BIG EAST Co-Coach of the Year in 2011 and the Patriot League Coach of the Year in 2014.

In seven seasons at the helm of the Greyhounds' program, Adams has led Loyola to a 96-42 record, a 47-16 record in conference play, four conference championships and five-straight NCAA Tournament appearances.