News

Eight NCAA Participants Featured On Women's Lacrosse Schedule

Nov. 13, 2014
By Emma Vaughn

2015 Loyola Women's Lacrosse Schedule

BALTIMORE - Loyola University Maryland head women's lacrosse coach Jen Adams has announced the squad's 2015 spring schedule.

The Greyhounds, the first team at Loyola to win a Patriot League title, are coming off their fourth-straight NCAA Championship appearance after capturing the conference crown during their inaugural year.

Loyola will once again sport one of the nation's toughest non-conference schedules, as eight of their nine out-of conference opponents are also coming off NCAA Tournament appearances. Of their nine games at Ridley Athletic Complex this spring, four will be against NCAA Tournament foes, including former BIG EAST conference-rival Syracuse - the 2014 NCAA runner-up.

The Greyhounds will also be featured on national television this season, as their final conference contest at Navy will be broadcast live on CBS Sports on Wednesday, April 18.

Loyola will begin its 43rd season of play at Princeton, an NCAA Tournament participant last year, on Saturday, Feb. 21, before returning to Baltimore to host back-to-back opponents. Johns Hopkins will make the trek up Charles Street for the Greyhounds' home opener on Wednesday, Feb. 25, followed by James Madison on Saturday Feb. 28.

A tough stretch against three-straight NCAA opponents will begin March for the Greyhounds, as they head down to Gainesville, Florida for a contest against Florida, an NCAA quarterfinalist, on Tuesday, March 3. They will then host Penn State on Saturday, March 7, before concluding the stretch with a trip to Virginia, an NCAA semifinalist, on Wednesday, March 11.

Loyola will commence its second season as a member of the Patriot League with back-to-back league games at home, as the Greyhounds will host Lafayette on Saturday, March 14, followed by a midweek game against Bucknell on Wednesday, March 18.

The Greyhounds with then head to Lehigh for their first Patriot League road contest on Saturday, March 21.

On Wednesday, March 25, Loyola will step out of conference play when it hosts a rivalry game against Georgetown. This will mark the 10th-straight year that the Greyhounds and Hoyas have met, with the last eight games being decided by three goals or less.

Conference play will resume when Loyola makes its first trip to Holy Cross on Saturday, March 28, before a second-straight road game sends the Greyhounds to their crosstown-rival, Towson, for a non-conference game on Wednesday, April 1.

Loyola will return home on Saturday, April 4 to host Colgate, which begins a four-game stretch of league contests heading into the conference tournament. Following the Colgate game, the Greyhounds will travel to American to face the Eagles on Wednesday, April 8, before a home game on Saturday, April 11 pits Loyola against Boston University - a rematch of last year's Patriot League Championship title game.

The Greyhounds will conclude conference play in Annapolis, as they take on Navy on Saturday, April 18.

The 2014 Patriot League Championship will be a six-team tournament with the top-two seeds receiving byes to the semifinals. The remaining higher seeds will host quarterfinal matches on Tuesday, April 21, with the tournament's top seed and regular-season champion hosting the semifinals and finals on Friday, April 24, and Sunday, April 26, respectively.

The Greyhounds will conclude their regular-season slate following the tournament when they Syracuse on Saturday, May 2 for Senior Day.

The first and second round games for the 26-team NCAA Championships will be played at campus sites on Friday, May 8 and Sunday, May 10, respectively. The quarterfinals will take place the following weekend, with the semifinals and finals set for Friday, May 22 and Sunday, May 24, respectively, at PPL Park in Philadelphia. 

Loyola's schedule is subject to change and times will be released at a later date.