Heether Becomes First Greyhound Inducted Into National Lax HOF

Oct. 30, 2013


Former Loyola University Maryland All-American Sue Heether became the first-ever Greyhound to be inducted into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame on Saturday night in a ceremony at The Grand Lodge in Hunt Valley, Md.

Heether joined Jim Berkman, Quinn Carney, Michele DeJuliis, Bill Miller, Tracy Stumpf, Ryan Wade and Michael Watson as the Class of 2013.

"There have been so many great teams at Loyola, both men's and women's, that to be the first Greyhound inducted into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame just blows my mind," Heether said. "When I found this fact out, I could not believe it. Our strength and history in lacrosse is so strong.

"This honor is about teammates though, because without them, I would not be receiving it. As a goalie, I am only one of 12 players that must be involved for a team to succeed."

A four-year starting goalkeeper for the Greyhounds from 1987-90, Heether led the program to its first-ever NCAA semifinal appearance as senior. She earned first-team All-America and National Goalie of the Year honors from the IWLCA that year and concluded her career at Loyola as the program's all-time career record holder for saves and goals-against average (8.19). To this day, Heether still holds the school record for saves at 837.

"The coaches I had pushed me to succeed," Heether said. "It was the combined efforts and coaching techniques of both the men's and women's staffs that pushed the goalkeepers to be the best. Back then, Loyola led in the cage; there were none better in the goal."

Heether continued her career on the international level, helping the U.S. Women's National Team to gold medals at the World Cup as a player in 1993, 1997 and 2001, and as a head coach in 2009. She ranks second all-time in saves by a U.S. player in World Cup play (53) and was the recipient of the Beth Allen Award as the outstanding U.S. team player at the National Tournament in 2005.

A member of Loyola's Hall of Fame Class of 1995, Heether was also inducted into the US Lacrosse Greater Baltimore Chapter Hall of Fame in 2004.