News

Loyola Women's Lacrosse Announces 2009 Schedule

Oct. 21, 2008

2009 Schedule
2009 Schedule in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

BALTIMORE - Loyola's women's lacrosse team will play 10 home games and a total of 17 regular-season contests in the first year of Head Coach Jen Adams' tenure at the College.

Adams, who was hired in June as the seventh head coach of the program that is entering its 37th season of varsity play, and the Greyhounds will open their 2009 campaign on Wednesday, February 18, when they visit Stony Brook at 1 p.m.

"We are very excited to start the 2009 season," Adams said. "I believe we have a schedule that is both challenging for the team and exciting for our fans. We are going to play several teams that are traditional opponents for Loyola, and that adds a lot of allure. Our fall season has been great so far, and it has only increased our intensity and focus for the spring."

The Greyhounds make their home debut three days later when Virginia comes to Diane Geppi-Aikens Field for a 3:30 p.m. match-up, a game that follows the Loyola-Towson men's game. Loyola and the Cavaliers will meet for the 28th time in a renewed series that has been played since 1981.

Loyola then hosts UMBC on Wednesday, February 25, at 3 p.m., in a game that will also be the 28th all-time between the schools.

Following a week off, the Greyhounds head to Newark, Del., for a Wednesday, March 4 date at Delaware, followed by a Saturday, March 7 game at Towson.

Davidson makes its first appearance at Diane Geppi-Aikens Field on Saturday, March 14, a 3:30 p.m. game that is part of a doubleheader with the Greyhound men, who take on St. John's.

A mid-week game versus Cornell on Wednesday, March 18, comes before the Greyhounds take on their most-played opponent in program history. Loyola faces James Madison for the 37th time on Saturday, March 21, another Loyola lacrosse doubleheader after the men's team plays Massachusetts.

The Greyhounds start BIG EAST Conference play on Friday, March 27, with a road swing that begins at Rutgers. Loyola then travels to South Bend, Ind., for a Sunday, March 29, game at Notre Dame.

Loyola hosts a BIG EAST weekend against Connecticut and Syracuse, as the Huskies come to Baltimore on Friday, April 3, and the Orange follow on Sunday, April 5.

Cincinnati will host the Greyhounds for the first time on Saturday, April 11, and Loyola closes its BIG EAST slate with a two-game homestand the following week.

Loyola hosts Georgetown on Wednesday, April 15, and a Saturday, April 18 game against Louisville closes the BIG EAST regular-season for the Greyhounds. The game against the Cardinals will be prior to the Loyola men's contest against Fairfield.

Georgetown hosts the BIG EAST Conference Championships on Friday and Sunday, April 24-26.

Following the BIG EAST Championships, Loyola will cap its regular-season schedule with a pair of games. The Greyhounds travel to Princeton for a game on Wednesday, April 29, followed by a home game against a first-time opponent, Denver, on Saturday, May 2.