Heether To Be Inducted Into National Lacrosse Hall Of Fame

May 22, 2013

BALTIMORE - Former Loyola University Maryland All-American goalkeeper Sue Heether will among this year’s eight-member induction class for the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, as approved by the US Lacrosse Board of Directors. This Class of 2013 will be officially inducted in a ceremony, sponsored by Bollinger Sports Insurance and the Markel Insurance Company, on Saturday, Oct. 26, at The Grand Lodge in Hunt Valley, Md.

Heether will join Jim Berkman, Quinn Carney, Michele DeJuliis, Bill Miller, Tracy Stumpf, Ryan Wade, and Michael Watson as the Class of 2013.

Heether will be inducted as a truly great player. A four-year starter for the Greyhounds from 1987-90, Heether was a first-team All-American as a senior. She was also selected as the IWLCA’s National Goalie of the Year that season, after leading Loyola to its first appearance in the NCAA final four. At the time of her graduation, she held the school record for career saves with 837.

She was a three-time member of the U.S. Women’s World Cup Team (1993, 1997, 2001), helping Team USA capture the World Championship in each of those years. She also served as an alternate to the team in 1989 and 2005. Heether ranks second all-time in saves (53) by a U.S. player in World Cup competition.

In 2005, Heether was named the recipient of US Lacrosse’s Beth Allen Award, an honor given annually to a member of the US team player that is a “highly skilled, creative and disciplined player who consistently makes a positive contribution to the team effort.”

Following her playing career, Heether added a fourth World Cup title as head coach of the U.S. team in 2009. 

Heether is already a member of Loyola’s Hall of Fame (Class of 1995) and US Lacrosse’s Greater Baltimore Chapter Hall of Fame (Class of 2004). 

Sue Heether
• Four-year college player at Loyola University Maryland (1987-1990)
• First team All-American (1990)
• National Goalie of the Year (1990)
• Three-time member of the U.S. World Cup Team (1993, 1997, 2001)
• Two-time alternate to U.S. World Cup Team (1989, 2005)
• Three-time World Cup champion (1993, 1997, 2001)
• Member of U.S. National Team Program (1989, 1991, 1993, 1995, 1996-1998, 2000-2005)
• Ranks second all-time in saves by a U.S. player in World Cup play (53)
• Head Coach of World Campion U.S. World Cup Team (2009)
• Head Coach of U.S. National Team (2005-2009)
• Winner of Beth Allen Award as outstanding U.S. team player at National Tournament (2005)
• Previously inducted into Loyola University Maryland Hall of Fame (1995)
• Previously inducted into US Lacrosse Greater Baltimore Chapter Hall of Fame (2004)