Paton Honored As Tewaaraton Award Semifinalist

April 25, 2014

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Loyola University Maryland women’s lacrosse senior midfielder Marlee Paton has been selected as one of 27 semifinalists for the prestigious Tewaaraton Award, as announced by the Tewaaraton Foundation Friday. The five finalists will be selected May 5 and honored on May 29 in a ceremony in Washington, D.C.

This honor marks the third-straight year that Paton has been included among the top-25 players in the country, as the Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are comprised of premier collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation.

Paton, the Patriot League Midfielder of the Year and only League player included as a semifinalists, is the only player in the NCAA to be ranked in the top-15 of active career stat leaders for goals, assists, points and ground balls. Among active players, she’s ranked fourth in points, ninth in goals, 10th in assists and 13th in ground balls and is looking to become the first player in Loyola history to reach 100 in all six statistical categories; goals (173), assists (96), points (269), ground balls (132), draw controls (93) and caused turnovers (107).

The Seaholme, Australia, native leads the Greyhounds’ offense with 42 goals this year and is second with 67 points, ranking 21st in the NCAA with 4.13 points per game. She also leads the team with 34 caused turnovers and is second with 33 ground balls and 36 draw controls.

A first-team All-Patriot League selection this year, Paton became the second Greyhound in program history to be named to an all-conference team four times throughout her career, picking up three first-team accolades and BIG EAST Midfielder of the Year honors in 2012. She’s led Loyola to two BIG EAST Championships and three-straight NCAA Tournament appearances throughout her career and will look to lead the Greyhounds to their first-ever Patriot League title on Saturday when they host Boston University in the championship game at 1 p.m.