Gavin, Stoothoff Named Tewaaraton Nominees

April 21, 2011

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Loyola University Maryland women's lacrosse players Grace Gavin and Kerry Stoothoff were named to the list of nominees for the 2011 Tewaaraton Award, the Greater Washington Sports Alliance announced this week.

The Tewaaraton women's watch list started the year with more than 50 names, and this week the group was cut down to 24 semifinalists. Five finalists will be chosen from the current list and will be invited to the June 2 banquet at the Warner Theater in Washington, D.C.

Gavin and Stoothoff have been among the top players in the nation throughout the season and are amongst the top in several statistical categories in NCAA Division I.

Gavin leads Loyola with 47 goals, 15 assists and 62 total points through 13 games this season. She also is second on the Greyhounds in both draw controls (32) and caused turnovers (18). The 2010 BIG EAST Conference Attacker of the Year is currently fifth in the nation in goals per game and sixth in points per game.

She entered an exclusive group on Sunday, April 10, in the Greyhounds' win at Villanova. The senior attacker scored three goals including the 200th of her career. Gavin joined Janet Eisenhut `83 and Stacey Morlang `02 as the only players in Loyola history to score 200 or more goals. Eisenhut is the school record-holder with 223, while Morlang tallied 221.

Stoothoff has been outstanding in goal for the Greyhounds thus far in 2011. She is sixth nationally with a 7.88 goals against average and ninth with a .494 saves percentage. She has helped guide the Loyola defense to the No. 5 scoring defense mark (7.83 goals per game) in the country.

The junior has earned BIG EAST Conference Defensive Player of the Week honors on four occasions this season.

Gavin, Stoothoff and the Greyhounds return to the field on Saturday when they travel to Piscataway, N.J., for a 1 o'clock game at Rutgers. Loyola is currently 12-1 overall and 4-1 in the BIG EAST.