McHarg Chosen as Tewaaraton Trophy Nominee

April 18, 2006

Baltimore, Md. - Loyola junior Kate McHarg was selected as one of 21 women's nominees for the Tewaaraton Trophy. The Tewaaraton Trophy is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award honoring the top female and male varsity collegiate lacrosse player in the United States. The winner will be announced on June 1, 2006.

McHarg is leading her team in scoring for the second straight season with 47 goals and seven assists. She also leads in groundballs with 32, draw controls with 32 and also posts 12 caused turnovers. McHarg is second in the country in goal scoring with an average of 3.92 per game and is 13th in points per game with 4.5 on average. She also ranks nationally in draw controls (27) with 2.67 per game. She also scored her 100th career goal this season and currently has 110 to her credit.

For a complete list of the women's collegiate nominees for the 2006 Tewaaraton Trophy click here.