Grace Gavin, Abby Rehfuss Named To Tewaaraton Watch List

March 4, 2011

WASHINGTON, D.C. - The Greater Washington Sports Alliance named Loyola University Maryland women's lacrosse seniors Grace Gavin and Abby Rehfuss to the 2011 Tewaaraton Award watch list, the organization announced on Friday.

The annual award goes to the nation's top NCAA lacrosse player in each respective gender. The watch list will undergo revisions three more times until the top ten male and female Tewaaraton Award Finalists are named in May.

Gavin, the 2011 BIG EAST Preseason Offensive Player of the Year, scored three goals for the Greyhounds in a season-opening 15-8 win over then-No. 7 Virginia on February 19. Gavin also tallied an assist and two ground balls in the victory.

After scoring 161 goals and 56 assists for 217 points in her time at Loyola and breaking the single-season goals record last year, Gavin sits 71 points short of tying the Loyola career point record, 62 goals short of the career goal mark and 64 assists shy of the career assists record.

Rehfuss, one of three captains for Loyola, scored a goal against Virginia while also picking up two ground balls and causing two turnovers. Rehfuss also earned a selection to the Preseason All-BIG EAST Team.

Rehfuss ranks fifth on Loyola's all-time draw controls ledger with 122 and stands 58 short of Michelle Meyer's top mark of 180 and just 19 shy of Kate McHarg's second-place spot of 141. She also ranks 18th on the all-time assists list (38) and 25th in career goals (91).

The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 by The University Club of Washington, D.C. The 11th annual Tewaaraton Award will be presented on June 2, 2011 at the historical Warner Theatre in Washington, D.C.

No. 7 Loyola takes a short road trip to face No. 17 Towson on Saturday at 1 p.m. before hosting Penn State on Tuesday at 7 p.m. and Cornell on Friday, March 11, at 1 p.m.