Four Greyhounds Honored On Tewaaraton Award Watch List

Feb. 26, 2015

WASHINGTON, D.C. - The Loyola University Maryland men's and women's lacrosse teams placed four Greyhounds on the Tewaaraton Award Watch List, presented by Under Armour and announced by the Tewaaraton Foundation Thursday night.

Redshirt senior Taryn VanThof, senior Annie Thomas and junior Maddy Lesher were honored on the women's side, while senior Nikko Pontrello was included on the men's watch list.

"First, congratulations to Jen Adams and the three women's lacrosse players honored; they represent Loyola with tremendous class," said Charley Toomey, Loyola's head men's lacrosse coach. "Nikko has been a hard worker and great example for others in our locker room and we look for continued great contributions from him."

"It's a great honor to have not just one, but three players recognized on such a prestigious list," said Jen Adams, the awards initial recipient and Loyola's head women's lacrosse coach. "I am excited to see Taryn, Annie and Maddy showcase why they are so deserving of this early season accolade."

Lesher, the Preseason Patriot League Defensive Player of the Year, is one of seven defenders and 10 juniors among the 50 women's watch list honorees. The Gladwyne, Pennsylvania native picked up her first All-America honor in 2014 after being named the league's defensive player of the year for limiting her personal match-ups to just four goals in eight conference games.

Pontrello led the Greyhounds with 51 goals last year, marking the third-best single-season output in school history, andhe also added 12 assists for a total of 63 points, the sixth-most in school single-season history, while his 3.0 goals per game ranked fifth nationally. The Marlton, New Jersey native was named to the All-Patriot League Team and also picked up his first USILA All-America honor.

Thomas recently became the first Greyhound in program history, and the 50th in NCAA history, to reach the 100 career goal and 100 career assist plateau. The Bel Air, Maryland native was named the Patriot League Offensive Player of the Year last season, and picked up the preseason honor this year. The three-time all-conference player led the team in points (78) and assists (38) a year ago, en route to her first All-America accolade.

VanThof, also a 2014 All-American and the first Greyhound to be selected to the prestigious US National Team since 2007, anchors the Patriot League's top midfield unit. The Livonia, New York native finished last year with a point in every game, contributing 31 goals and 40 points, and was one of nine players in the NCAA to win more than 100 draw controls last year. She broke Loyola's game (15), season (122) and career (227) draw control records along the way.

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of premier collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by The Tewaaraton Foundation.