Women's Lacrosse Picked Third in BIG EAST Pre-Season Poll

Jan. 23, 2006

Providence, R.I. - The Loyola College women's lacrosse team was picked to finish third by the BIG EAST coaches in a pre-season poll. The 2006 season marks the first season for the Greyhounds as a member of the BIG EAST. Georgetown was selected as the favorite to win for the fifth consecutive season.

Syracuse follows Georgetown as the second place pick. Behind the Greyhounds at a tie for fourth are Connecticut and Notre Dame. Rutgers rounds out the list at fifth place.

Loyola junior midfielder Kate McHarg is a unanimous selection to the All-BIG EAST Pre-Season squad. Fellow teammate, senior attacker Sydney Greene was also named as a pre-Season selection. It marks the first time in the career of McHarg and Greene to be named to a pre-season all-conference teams as the Greyhounds have spent the last three seasons playing as an independent.

Here's a complete look at the BIG EAST Pre-Season Coaches Poll:

1. Georgetown (5): 25 points, 2005 Record: 13-5, 5-0, 2005 BIG EAST Finish: 1st
2. Syracuse (1): 20 points, 2005 Record: 12-5, 4-1, 2005 BIG EAST Finish: 2nd
3. Loyola: 17 points, 2005 Record: 5-11, 2005 BIG EAST Finish: N/A
T4. Connecticut: 10 points, 2005 Record: 12-5, 3-2, 2005 BIG EAST Finish: 3rd
T4. Notre Dame: 10 points, 2005 Record: 3-12, 1-4, 2005 BIG EAST Finish: 6th
5. Rutgers: 8 points, 2005 Record: 6-10, 1-4, 2005 BIG EAST Finish: 5th

Pre-season Offensive Player of the Year: Coco Stanwick, Jr., A, Georgetown

Pre-Season Defensive Player of the Year: Chole Asselin, Jr., D, Georgetwon

Pre-Sseason All-BIG EAST Team^
Coco Stanwick, Jr. A, Georgetown*
Chole Asselin, Jr., D, Georgetown*
Stephanie Zodtner, Sr., D, Georgetown
Caitlyn Dragon, Sr., A, Syracuse*
Meghan O'Connell, Sr., M, Syracuse
Jill DePetris, Jr., M, Syracuse
Sydney Greene, Sr., A, Loyola
Kate McHarg, So., A, Loyola*

Shannon Burke, Jr., M, Connecticut*
Katie Batiuk, So., M, Rutgers
Anne Marchitello, Jr., M, Rutgers
Julie Foote, So., M/A, Notre Dame*
Caitlin McKinney, So., M/A, Notre Dame*
Lena Zentgraf, Sr., D, Notre Dame

^ - Due to a tie in voting two extra members has been added to the preseason team
* - unanimous selection