Over 600 Participants Take Part In 13th-Annual Diane Geppi-Aikens Race

Sept. 19, 2015

Race Results | Photo Gallery

BALTIMORE - A total of 640 participants from the Baltimore area and the Loyola University Maryland community took part in the 13th-Annual Diane Geppi-Aikens 5K Run and 1-Mile Fun Walk Saturday morning.

The race was started by former women’s lacrosse standout Hannah Schmitt ’15, who was named the first-ever recipient of the Diane Geppi-Aikens Endowed Scholarship at last year’s event. Senior goalkeeper Molly Wolf was named this year’s recipient in a post-race ceremony.

The race was held on the University's campus in honor of the Loyola women's lacrosse coach who passed away in 2003 after a brave battle with brain cancer.

In addition to many local roadrunners, family and friends of Geppi-Aikens, and Loyola athletics teams, women's lacrosse teams from Loyola, Maryland, UMBC, Johns Hopkins and Towson all ran or walked at the event.