#11 Women's Lacrosse Falls To #17 Towson

Midfielder Grace Gavin recorded her third hat trick of the season, but it was not enough as the 17th ranked Towson Tigers defeated the #11 Loyola Greyhounds, 14-10, Saturday afternoon at the Greyhounds' Diane Geppi-Aikens Field. Meg Decker was the only other Greyhound with a multi-goal game.

Towson's Hillary Fratzke led all scorers with five goals and an assist for six total points, while Ashley Waldron also recorded a hat trick for the Tigers.

The Tigers got on the board first, but Loyola roared back with goals from Joanna Dalton and Gavin to take a one-goal lead at 2-1.

After trading goals, Loyola would take a two-goal lead at 5-3 after scores by Emily Gibson and Decker.

Loyola saw its largest lead of the game at 7-4 after Gavin recorded her second goal of the game.

Towson then scored three unanswered goals to tie the game, but just before the half, Decker recorded her second goal of the game to give the `Hounds an 8-7 lead going into the locker room.

Four different Tigers scored unanswered as the Tigers opened the second half on fire to take a three-goal lead at 11-8 and the Greyhounds were not able to recover.

Gavin cut the lead to two at 11-9 and Hager did so again at 12-10 with 18:21 to go, but that was as close as Loyola could get.

Meg Steffe saw her first action of the season, replacing Kerry Stoothoff with 2:51 to go in the first half after Towson tied the game at 7.

Stoothoff returned to the game with 21:52 remaining in the second half.

Stoothoff allowed ten goals, but also made ten saves in the no-decision, while Steffe made a pair of saves and allowed four goals.

Mary Teeters saved eight shots in a 60 minute effort for the Tigers.

Gavin and Rehfuss led the Greyhounds with three draw controls each, while Rehfuss also led the team with four ground balls. Gibson led the defense with three caused turnovers, while Rehfuss, Ana Heneberry and Ashley Moulton each had two.

Loyola is back in action when they host Delaware Tuesday, March 9 in the final game ever to be played at Diane Geppi-Aikens Field. Opening draw is slated for 4:00 p.m.