D'Agostino Wins Flight Title At Mount St. Mary's Invitational

Oct. 5, 2008


EMMITSBURG, Md. - Loyola's Dan D'Agostino won the Flight `C' Singles Championship at the Mount St. Mary's Invitational on Sunday, as the Greyhounds' men's tennis team closed play at its first event of the 2008-2009 season.

D'Agostino defeated his teammate, Patrick Glaessner, 6-2, 6-0, to win the title.

Two other Loyola singles players - J. Pierce Norton and Chet Milot - advanced to their respective singles flight championship matches, and Milot and Kevin Zingler made it to the Flight `B' Doubles Championship match.

Norton lost to George Mason's Brian Fitzgerald, 7-6 (7-5), 6-2, in the Flight `A' Singles title match, while Keyan Sanai picked up a third-place finish in the flight with a default win over Jorge Osuna of George Mason.

Zingler was also a default winner over Mount St. Mary's Favio Osorio in the third place match of Flight `B' Singles.

Milot was topped by George Mason's Zach Schneider, 7-5, 6-3, in the Flight `D' Singles Championship.

Rob Mattison won the Flight `D' Consolation bracket, taking fifth place, with a 7-6 (7-1), 6-1, victory over Robert Morris' Aaron Haas.

In doubles competition, Sanai and Norton beat The Mount's Patrick Plastow and Andrew Maranucci, 8-4, to take third place in Flight `A.'

D'Agostino and Jamie Russo lost, 8-3, to John Lipstock and Matt Vaughn in the consolation bracket final and took sixth place.

Zingler and Milot moved on to the Flight `B' doubles championship, but were edged, 8-4, by Robert Morris' Dave Pinto and Naz Doroush.

Mattison and Glaessner won the consolation bracket in Flight `B,' taking fifth place, with an 8-4 victory over Robert Morris' Aaron Haas and Dan Becker.

The Greyhounds travel to Norfolk, Va., along with the Loyola women's tennis team, and will compete in the Hampton Roads Collegiate next weekend, beginning on Friday, October 10.