Men's Tennis Opens Season At Mount St. Mary's Invitational

Oct. 4, 2008

Results Get Acrobat Reader

EMMITSBURG, Md. - Loyola's men's tennis team opened its 2008-2009 schedule Saturday with the first day of competition of the Mount St. Mary's Invitational.

Four players advanced through their respective singles brackets and will play for the flight championship on Sunday.

For the men, J. Pierce Norton defeated Robert Morris' Sean Curley (4-6, 6-3, 10-7) and George Mason's Jorge Osuna (2-5, retired) and will take on George Mason's Brian Fitzgerald in tomorrow's Flight `A' Championship match.

Keyan Sanai won his first tilt in Flight `A', topping the Mount's Patrick Plastow (6-4, 6-0), before losing to Fitzgerald (6-4, 6-1). Sanai will take on Osuna for third place in the flight tomorrow.

Kevin Zingler won his first collegiate match (6-3, 6-0) over Thad Mostowtt of Mount St. Mary's in Flight `B' Singles play, but then lost to George Mason's Lee Wexler (4-6, 6-2, 10-2). Zingler will play Favio Orsio of The Mount for third place tomorrow.

In the same bracket, Jamie Russo lost to George Mason's Daniel Schneider (6-4, 6-0) and Robert Morris' Dave Pinto (5-7, 6-3, 10-3).

Two Loyola players, Dan D'Agostino and Patrick Glaessner, will meet in tomorrow's Flight `C' Singles Championship match after winning both of their matches Saturday. Glaessner topped Robert Morris' Ryan Cameron (6-4, retired) and George Mason's Imran Nayeem (7-6 (9-7), 6-7 (7-3), 10-4).

D'Agostino defeated Matt Vaughn of George Mason (6-2, 6-4) and Robert Morris' Dan Becker (7-6 (7-1), 6-4.

In Flight `D' Singles, Chet Milot won two matches, topping The Mount's Herschel Walters (6-1, 6-0) and George Mason's Arjun Sanghvi (6-4, 7-5). He will take on George Mason's Zach Schneider in tomorrow's championship.

Rob Mattison lost his first match to Schneider (6-2, 6-3), but then defeated The Mount's Reilly Gates (6-1, 6-0) to move on to the consolation final tomorrow.

In doubles action, Sanai and Norton defeated Lipstock and Vaughn of George Mason, 8-1, in Flight `A' Doubles to advance to the semifinals. D'Agostino and Russo lost to The Mount's Plastow and Maranucci, 8-0, in the same bracket.

In Flight `B' Doubles, Zingler and Milot teamed to beat Robert Morris' Becker and Haas, 8-2, while Mattison and Glaessner lost, 8-3, to Robert Morris' Pinto and Doroush.