Men's Soccer Darvill Garners All-American Honors

Nov. 22, 2008

Baltimore, Md. - Junior Loyola forward Jamie Darvill has been named to the third-team Top Drawer Soccer National Team of the Year - a variation of an All-America team - it was announced today.Darvill, a native of London, England, leads a Loyola offense that ranks second in the nation with 2.4 goals-a-game. One of the top strikers in the college game, Darvill has started all 20 games for Loyola, leading the Greyhounds to a 18-1-1 record, including the 2008 MAAC Regular-Season title and a first-round bye in the NCAA College Cup.The reigning MAAC Offensive Player of the Year, Darvill led the Greyhounds with 14 goals and 10 assists. He ranks ninth nationally in points-per-game (1.9) and 15th in goals-per-game (0.7). Both marks led the MAAC. Darvill has been greatly aided by fellow forward Phil Bannister's presence up front, who has scored 10 goals and ranks tenth nationally in points-per-game (1.78), giving the Greyhounds a potent two-headed scoring attack.Darvill garnered MAAC Offensive Player of the Week honors three times this season. In a 3-nil win over Manhattan earlier this season, he scored all three of his team's goals, accounting for the first hat trick in five seasons at Evergreen.Loyola will take on UNC Greensboro on Tuesday at 6 p.m. at Diane Geppi-Aikens Field in the second round of the NCAA College Cup.

Below is the Top Drawer Soccer full list: Team of the SeasonFirst TeamGK: Stefan Frei, CaliforniaD: Ike Opara, Wake ForestD: Kevin Alston, IndianaD: Joel Gustafsson, St. John'sM: Brad Ring, IndianaM: Baggio Husidic, UICM: Mike Stephens, UCLAM: Jeremy Hall, MarylandF: Mike Grella, DukeF: Steve Zakuani, AkronF: Marcus Tracy, Wake ForestF: Chris Pontius, UC Santa BarbaraPlayer of the Season: Steve Zakuani, AkronSecond TeamGK: Zack Simmons, MassachusettsD: Brad Rusin, UCLAD: Yohance Marshall, South FloridaD: Matt Besler, Notre DameD: Omar Gonzalez, MarylandM: Nelson Becerra, St. John'sF: O'Brian White, ConnecticutF: Peri Marosevic, MichiganF: Doug DeMartin, Michigan StateF: Andrew Wiedeman, CaliforniaF: Matt Eliason, NorthwesternF: Conor Chinn, San FranciscoThird TeamGK: Tyrel Lacey, TulsaD: Chris Schuler, CreightonD: Barry Rice, KentuckyD: Nick Barclay, GonzagaD: David Sias, UC Santa BarbaraM: Quincy Amarikwa, UC DavisM: Bobby Warshaw, StanfordF: Chris Salvaggione, CharlotteF: Kyle Christianson, DenverF: Devan Carroll, UNC WilmingtonF: Brian Shriver, North CarolinaF: Jamie Darvill, Loyola (MD)(Note: Freshmen are not eligible for the Team of the Season - only the All-Rookie Team) All-Rookie TeamFirst-TeamGK: Zac MacMath, MarylandD: Tony Walls, Wisconsin-Green BayD: Kofi Sarkodie, AkronD: Dan Wenzel, Wake ForestM: Matt Kassel, MarylandM: Darlington Nagbe, AkronM: Tony Tchani, VirginiaF: Danny Mwanga, Oregon StateF: Michael Bustamante Boston UniversityF: Will Bruin, IndianaF: Brian Ownby, VirginiaF: Casey Townsend, MarylandRookie of the Season: Matt Kassel, MarylandSecond-TeamGK: Andrew Fontein, UC IrvineD: Sheanon Williams, North CarolinaD: Roger Downes, Loyola MarymountM: Julian Serrato, UICM: Karol Chorak, LibertyM: Jarod Stigall, DenverF: Colin Rolfe, LouisvilleF: Steffen Rabben, Old DominionF: Sam Garza, DenverF: Coleton Hennings, FurmanF: Lucky Mkosana, DartmouthF: Austin Neil, Tulsa