Cahalan And Dooley Voted To Patriot League All-Academic Team

Nov. 13, 2013

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. - The Loyola University Maryland men’s soccer team placed two Greyhounds, senior Stephen Dooley and junior Joseph Cahalan, on the Academic All-Patriot League team, as announced by the league office Wednesday.

Dooley and Cahalan were among 11 members selected to the team, while Dooley was one of three who also earned All-Patriot League First Team honors. Nine of the 10 conference schools were represented, while Loyola and Colgate were the only league schools with two selections.

Dooley, a business administration in finance major who carries a cumulative grade-point average of 3.404, finished the year ranked in the top-10 in the Patriot League in both points and assists this year. With six assists, he ranked third, while he was tied for seventh with 0.62 points per game. A team captain, Dooley scored the game-winning goal while playing a man-down in a come-from-behind win over Princeton. He also recorded his 50th career point in a 1-1 tie at Colgate.

The midfielder from Portstewart, Northern Ireland, was a Senior CLASS Award candidate this year. He also earned MAAC All-Academic Team honors as a sophomore and junior, while he was named an NSCAA Scholar All-American last year.

Cahalan is one of just three juniors on the all-academic team. A business administration major with a 3.83 grade-point average, Cahalan played all 1,575 minutes on the backline this year. He helped the Greyhounds to four shutouts this seasons, including having a defensive save in a 1-0 road win at Quinnipiac.

A member of the MAAC All-Academic Team in 2012, Cahalan is also a member of Loyola’s Sellinger Scholars Program (a small honors group that recognizes top students in the department) and was Loyola’s Cura Personalis Award winner for demonstrating service, leadership and academic achievement.

Army’s Winston Boldt, the Patriot League Goalkeeper of the Year, was named the Patriot League Scholar-Athlete of the Year. He joined Dooley and Cahalan, in addition to American’s Colin Seigfreid, Bucknell’s Joe Meyer, Colgate’s Nick Arpey and Tyler Forbes, Holy Cross’ Monty Sanders, Lafayette’s Ryan Dodds, Lehigh’s Jamie Luchini and Navy’s Dave Arnold on the all-academic team.