Five Greyhounds Named To Men's Soccer All-MAAC Team

Nov. 10, 2005

Baltimore, Md. - For the second year in a row, Gabriel Ortega and Rade Kokovic earn first-team All-MAAC status, and in doing so, headline Loyola's five all-conference selections. Joining the junior pair is classmate Danny Wheelan on the second team and freshmen Phil Brierley and Josh Taylor on the all-rookie squad.

Ortega earns first-team honors as a defensive stopper. This season, he has helped the Greyhounds hold opponents to just over one goal per game and a shot percentage of .124. A three-year starter at Evergreen, Ortega garnered All-Rookie honors as a freshman before last season's first-team selection.

Kokovic has led the Greyhounds in assists in each of the past two seasons, tallying 15 total assists during that span of time. This season, he has eight points and a game-winning goal, and is currently third on the team in scoring.

Wheelan is the team's co-captain this season. He scored his first-career game winner back on October 1 and has two goal and two assists to make the all-conference squad as a midfielder.

All-Rookie selections Brierley and Taylor are both defenders and have helped the Greyhounds close the season unbeaten in eight of their final 10 matches. Loyola, 6-2-1 in the MAAC, enters this weekend's conference tournament as the No. 2 seed.

On the All-Academic squad, junior Omar Alfonso was honored for maintaining a cumulative grade point average over 3.2 or higher. Alfonso, an All-MAAC selection in each of first two years at Loyola (including Offensive Player of the Year in 2003), sat out this season with an injury.

2005 First Team All-MAAC SelectionsNicholas SmaldoneIonaBack Gabe Ortega LoyolaBackBen CastorMaristBackTomislav RogicMaristBackSam BaileyFairfieldMidfielder Rade KokovicLoyolaMidfielderMarco OriasSaint Peter'sMidfielderBilly AndroutsosFairfieldForwardKeith DeteljMaristForwardMatt StedmanNiagaraForwardJuan GaviriaSaint Peter'sForwardAndrew FrankelFairfieldGoalkeeper

Second Team All-MAACEd MeyerFairfieldBackTom SkaraFairfieldBackMike TroyFairfieldBackChris DeAbreuSaint Peter'sBackKerr McLeodFairfieldMidfielderPaul RacinesIonaMidfielder Danny WheelanLoyolaMidfielderMark SpoonerNiagaraMidfielderAldo HopeFairfieldForwardJavier EscobedoManhattanForwardAnthony GraciMaristForwardDan RiversoRiderGoalkeeper

All-Rookie TeamTom ClementsFairfieldBack Phil BrierleyLoyolaBackJosh TaylorLoyolaBackBilly GustafsonNiagaraBackChris DeAbreuSaint Peter'sBackMike LentineFairfieldMidfielderKerr McLeodFairfieldMidfielderChris NaccaMaristMidfielderMike JuskaRiderMidfielderAldo HopeFairfieldForwardEric BrodfuehrerNiagaraForwardMichael DeSimoneSienaForwardJesse SutherlandFairfieldGoalkeeper

Offensive Player of the YearMatt Stedman, Niagara

Defensive Player of the YearBen Castor, Marist

Rookie of the YearKerr McLeod, Fairfield

Anaconda Sports MAAC Coach of the YearDermot McGrane, Niagara