Greyhounds Picked Third In MAAC Preseason Poll

Aug. 15, 2012

EDISON, N.J. - The Loyola University Maryland men's soccer team was picked to finish third in the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference preseason poll, released today by the conference office. In addition, senior Gerwyn Jones and junior Stephen Dooley were named to the Preseason All-MAAC Team.

The Greyhounds received 82 total points in the coaches poll. Fairfield was picked as the favorite to win the 2012 MAAC men's soccer title, collecting seven first-place votes and 96 points. Iona nabbed three first-place votes and is predicted to finish second with 92 points. Marist was selected fourth with 57 points, while Siena was fifth at 53 points, followed by Niagara (52 points), Manhattan (38), Canisius (31), Saint Peter's (27) and Rider (22).

Jones, a senior back, was named to the Preseason All-MAAC Team for a second-straight season. The two-time All-MAAC First Team honoree earned second-team All-North Atlantic Region honors last year. He started and played in 16 games, scoring the game-winning goal against Towson. The Caernarfon, Wales native also had a header to tie the game against Iona.

Dooley, a junior forward, is the team's top returning scorer from a year ago. A first-team All-MAAC honoree, Dooley was also named to the MAAC All-Academic Team after finishing second on the team with six goals and 16 points. The Portstewart, Northern Ireland native shared the team lead with four assists and had at least one point in six of the Greyhounds' eight conference games. He scored his first career goal at Navy and notched the game-winning goal at Siena, while also converting three penalty kicks.

Loyola will open its 2012 campaign this weekend, heading to Saint Francis (Pa.) for a 7 p.m. game on Saturday, Aug. 25. The Greyhounds' home opener is scheduled for Friday, Aug. 31 against La Salle.

The 2012 MAAC Championships will be played at Loyola's Ridley Athletic Complex from Thursday-Saturday, Nov. 8-10. The top-four regular-season finishers will qualify for this year's conference tournament.