Loyola Men's Soccer Trio Named To Hermann Trophy Watch List

Aug. 11, 2009

Loyola's Hermann Trophy Candidates:
Jamie Darvill
Tennant McVea
Phil Bannister

ST. LOUIS, Mo. - Three Loyola men's soccer players are among the 38 NCAA Division I players who have been named to the 2009 Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy Watch List.

Senior back Tennant McVea, senior forward Jamie Darvill and junior forward Phil Bannister were selected to the register. College soccer's most prestigious individual award, the Hermann Trophy is presented each January by the MAC and the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA).

Jamie Darvill was named the 2009 Preseason MAAC Player of the Year.

The Greyhounds were one of only two schools - 2008 NCAA College Cup Quarterfinalist Creighton being the other - with three players on the Watch List. Only six schools had two or more players honored.

"It is a tremendous honor for our program and our players to be considered for this award," Loyola Head Coach Mark Mettrick said. "Tennant, Jamie and Phil all exhibit great qualities, and they are the type of student-athletes we look for in our Loyola program."

Voting for the award is done by a vote of current head coaches at the NCAA Division I level. A nominating committee, consisting of conference representatives from each Division I conference for men and women, select 15 candidates to appear on the ballot. Ballots with the names of the top 15 players are then sent to Division I head coaches who select the winner.

McVea, who along with Darvill will serve as a team captain this season, was a First Team All-American by the NSCAA/adidas following the 2008 campaign. He earned Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (MAAC) Defensive Player of the Year honors for the second consecutive season and was an All-MAAC First Team honoree. He helped the Greyhounds' defense post the nation's ninth-best goals against average from his position in the center backfield.

Darvill earned MAAC Offensive Player of the Year honors last season after leading the league in goals (14) and total points (39). He earned Top Drawer Soccer National Team of the Year Third Team laurels while finishing eighth in the nation with 1.86 points per game. Darvill helped Loyola finish second nationally in goals per game as a team and was rewarded with All-MAAC First Team honors. The conference's coaches selected him as the 2009 Preseason Player of the Year.

Phil Bannister earned Academic All-America honors last season.

Bannister is the other half of the top goal-scoring duo in NCAA Division I. He earned All-MAAC First Team honors last season after picking up MAAC Rookie of the Year laurels as a freshman in 2007. Bannister scored 13 goals and assisted on eight others for a total of 34 points. He is a standout in the classroom, as well, earning ESPN The Magazine/CoSIDA Academic All-America Third Team and All-District II First Team honors.

This marks the second-straight season at least one Loyola men's soccer player was a member of the Hermann Trophy Watch List. Last year, goalkeeper Milos Kocic was a part of the list prior to earning NSCAA/adidas All-America Second Team honors.

Loyola, which has garnered a No. 15 preseason ranking from College Soccer News and was tabbed by the MAAC coaches as the league's favorite going into the year, opens its schedule with a 5 p.m. match at home on Tuesday, September 1, 2009, against Villanova.

Click here to view the complete Watch List.