News

Men's Soccer Announces 2011 Schedule

July 15, 2011

Purchase Women's Soccer single-game and season tickets!
2011 Loyola Men's Soccer Schedule
Promotion Calendar

BALTIMORE - The Loyola University Maryalnd men's soccer team will open its 2011 home schedule on Saturday, September 10, with the first of four-straight games at Ridley Athletic Complex, Head Coach Mark Mettrick announced today.

The Greyhounds host St. Francis (Pa.) at 7 o'clock on September 10, the first of nine home games during the season.

Loyola and the men's soccer program will host several promotions for fans, students and University employees, beginning with Youth Night and York Road Night when the Greyhounds host the Red Flash in the home opener.

All children wearing their school or youth team's jerseys will receive free admission to the game with a paid adult ticket. Additionally, fans living in the York Road corridor near Loyola will be able to use vouchers to receive buy-one-get-one-free admission to the match.

The Greyhounds continue their homestand four days later when they host area rival Towson at 7 o'clock on Wednesday, September 14. Join the University as it celebrates Unleash The `Hounds, its new athletics logo, and another neighborhood night for residents in other communities surrounding Loyola.

Saturday, September 17, against Campbell will be Boy Scout Night at Ridley with all scouts wearing their uniforms receiving free admission.

The team concludes its homestand on Wednesday, September 21, with a double-dip of soccer action. Loyola's women's soccer team hosts American University at 5 p.m. that evening prior to the men's tilt against UMBC. It will also be Employee Appreciation Night at the matches with all Loyola employees receiving free admission for everyone in their party.

Prior to the four-game homestand, the Greyhounds open their season with three games on the road. They start the 2011 schedule on Saturday, August 27, with a 7 o'clock match in Garden City, N.Y., against Adelphi.

They then travel to Williamsburg, Va., on Saturday, September 3, for a 7 o'clock game against William & Mary. Last year, the Tribe advanced to the NCAA College Cup Round of 16 after defeating UMBC in penalty kicks in the Second Round. Loyola plays its third-straight road game on Wednesday, September 7, in nearby Annapolis, Md., against the United States Naval Academy at 7 o'clock.

A Saturday, September 24, match in Hamden, Conn., against Quinnpiiac at 1 o'clock breaks up the Loyola homestand before the Greyhounds return to Ridley Athletic Complex to open Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference action.

Loyola starts league play on Friday, September 30, with a 7 o'clock match against Fairfield. It's Family Weekend at Loyola, and the game will help to kick off the celebration at the University. Iona then visits Ridley at 1 o'clock on Sunday, October 2, for Purple Sunday and Loyola Faculty Appreciation Day. Children wearing Baltimore Ravens' jerseys to the game will be admitted free, and adults wearing jerseys will receive half-price admission.

The Greyhounds them make a road swing through the New York City area for a pair of MAAC matches, playing at Manhattan in Riverdale, N.Y., at 7 o'clock on Friday, October 7, and in Jersey City, N.J., against Saint Peter's at 1 o'clock on Sunday, October 9.

Loyola returns to Ridley Athletic Complex for its final three regular-season home matches of 2011, starting on Saturday, October 15, against Rider at 7 o'clock on Graduate Student Night.

The Greyhounds then host Canisius at 7 o'clock on Friday, October 21, and Niagara on Sunday, October 23, at 7 o'clock. Friday's contest against the Golden Griffins will be Heroes Night with all police, fire, military and other public service officials being admitted free with an ID. Loyola will then celebrate Senior Day and Family Fun Day against the Purple Eagles. It will honor its senior student-athletes in a pregame ceremony, and Family Fun Day will feature many activities for children and fans of all ages.

Loyola closes the regular season in Central New York against Siena - in Loudonville, N.Y., on Friday, October 28, at 3 o'clock - and Marist - in Poughkeepsie, N.Y., on Sunday, October 30, at 1 o'clock.

The MAAC Championships will be contested from November 3-7 in Lake Buena Vista, Fla., at the ESPN Wide World of Sports Complete at Walt Disney World Resorts.

 

Day Date Opponent Location H/A/N Time
Sat. Aug. 27 Adelphi Garden City, N.Y. A 7 p.m.
Sat. Sept. 3 William & Mary Williamsburg, Va. A 7 p.m.
Wed. Sept. 7 Navy Annapolis, Md. A 7 p.m.
Sat. Sept. 10 St. Francis (Pa.) Ridley Athletic Complex H 7 p.m.
Wed. Sept. 14 Towson Ridley Athletic Complex H 7 p.m.
Sat. Sept. 17 Campbell Ridley Athletic Complex H 7 p.m.
Wed. Sept. 21 UMBC Ridley Athletic Complex H 7 p.m.
Sat. Sept. 24 Quinnipiac Hamden, Conn. A 1 p.m.
Fri. Sept. 30 * Fairfield Ridley Athletic Complex H 7 p.m.
Sun. Oct. 2 * Iona Ridley Athletic Complex H 1 p.m.
Fri. Oct. 7 * Manhattan Riverdale, N.Y. A 7 p.m.
Sun. Oct. 9 * Saint Peter's Jersey City, N.J. A 1 p.m.
Sat. Oct. 15 * Rider Ridley Athletic Complex H 7 p.m.
Fri. Oct. 21 * Canisius Ridley Athletic Complex H  7 p.m.
Sun. Oct. 23 * Niagara Ridley Athletic Complex H 1 p.m.
Fri. Oct. 28 * Siena Loudonville, N.Y. A 3 p.m.
Sun. Oct. 30 * Marist Poughkeepsie, N.Y. A 1 p.m.
Thurs. Nov. 3 ^ MAAC Opening Round Lake Buena Vista, Fla. N TBD
Fri. Nov. 4 ^ MAAC Quarterfinals Lake Buena Vista, Fla. N TBD
Sat. Nov. 5 ^ MAAC Semifinals Lake Buena Vista, Fla. N TBD
Mon. Nov. 7 ^ MAAC Championship Game Lake Buena Vista, Fla. N TBD

* - Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference match
^ - MAAC Championships (at ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex at Walt Disney World Resorts)
Schedule is subject to change; all times local to site