Men's Lacrosse Names 2008 Team Captains

Oct. 31, 2007

Baltimore, Md. - The Loyola College men's lacrosse team has named four seniors as captains for 2008. Eddie Graham, Shane Koppens, David Moore and Paul Richards were elected by their teammates.

"These four seniors have been great ambassadors for our program on and off the field," says Head Coach Charley Toomey. "The respect they have earned from their teammates has come from hard work, dedication and their ability to motivate."

Both Graham and Moore are defensive captains for the `Hounds and have started every game the past two seasons. Last year, the duo helped lead Loyola to their 15th NCAA Tournament appearance. Moore and Graham will anchor a defense that again will play a nationally ranked schedule.

Koppens, meanwhile, returns as Loyola's leading scorer with 20 goals and 26 assists last season. He was named to the All-ECAC squad and also picked up 32 groundballs on the year. In two full seasons at attack, Koppens has 30 goals and 66 points for Loyola.

In the midfield, Richards has logged as many minutes as any Greyhound the past three seasons. In his first three seasons, he has 20 goals and 20 assists and has picked up a team leading 105 groundballs.

"These captains will play an instrumental role in shaping the 2008 team," adds Coach Toomey. "We will have new faces on both the offensive and defensive sides of the field and our staff couldn't be happier with the team's selection."

The Greyhounds open the regular season on February 16 when they host Notre Dame.