Former Greyhounds Help Rochester To 2008 MLL Title

Aug. 27, 2008

Baltimore, Md. - When the Rochester Rattlers were crowned 2008 Major Lacrosse League Champions in Boston over the weekend, a pair of former Greyhounds all-Americas were among the celebrants. Midfielders Gavin Prout and Andy Spack both played key roles as Rochester captured its first-ever MLL championship.

Winners of the Eastern Conference, Rochester defeated the Philadelphia Barrage 16-15 in overtime in the semifinals before using a total team defensive effort in posting a 16-6 triumph over the Denver Outlaws in the championship.

Both former Greyhounds were two of four Rattlers midfielders to appear in all 14 Rochester games this season. Prout, a 2001 graduate of Loyola, finished with nine goals and 11 assists for 20 total points. He tallied twice in the semifinal win and assisted on a goal in the championship. Spack, who finished his Greyhounds career in 2007, scored five goals and added two assists for seven points on the season.

The title gives Rochester lacrosse championships in three different leagues - Major League Lacrosse (MLL), National Lacrosse League (NLL) and Major Indoor Lacrosse League (MILL).