Sawyer Named Tewaaraton Award Finalist

May 10, 2012

View on a mobile device

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Loyola University Maryland junior attacker Mike Sawyer was named a finalist for the 2012 Tewaaraton Award, an honor given yearly to the top player in college lacrosse.

Sawyer, who is third in the nation and leads the ECAC with 45 goals, is one of five finalists, joining Colgate's Peter Baum, Duke's C.J. Costabile, Massachusetts' Will Manny and Virginia's Steele Stanwick.

He is the first finalist in Loyola men's lacrosse history since the award's inception in 2001. Sawyer is also the first-ever finalist to hail from the State of North Carolina

The award will be presented at the 12th-annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony on May 31, at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian in the Nation's Capital.

This season, Sawyer has recorded 10 hat tricks and 12 multi-goal outings in 15 games this season, helping the Greyhounds to a school-record 14 wins and the No. 1 seed in the upcoming NCAA Championships.

His 45 goals are the most by a Loyola player since 2000 when Tim Goettelmann set the school record with 50. Sawyer's 45 are tied for third-most in a single season at Loyola, and they are tied for second, with Kevin Beach's 1993 total, in the Greyhounds' Division I history since 1982.

Sawyer earned All-ECAC First Team honors for the second year in a row and was named to the ECAC All-Tournament Team last week when Loyola defeated Denver and Fairfield to win the league title.

Earlier this season, Sawyer set a career-high in goals (6) and points (8) in the Greyhounds' 13-8 victory over Duke on March 10. He has scored at least one point in all but one of Loyola's games this season and has averaged 3.0 goals per contest.

Sawyer and the Greyhounds will host Canisius College in the NCAA First Round on Saturday, May 12, 5 p.m., at Ridley Athletic Complex. The game will be televised on ESPNU and streamed on ESPN3. Tickets are available for purchase at