Men's Lacrosse Picked Fourth In ECAC Coaches' Poll

Feb. 20, 2006

Baltimore, Md. - The Loyola College men's lacrosse team has been picked fourth in the 2006 ECAC Preseason Coaches' Poll released today by the conference office. The Greyhounds, who finished tied for third in last season's final standings, finish behind Georgetown, UMass and Penn State in this year's preseason voting.

"This is a very strong league," says Loyola Head Coach Charley Toomey. "Georgetown and Massachusetts are certainly deserving of the top two spots in the preseason poll, but any one of the teams picked third through eighth could win it. Every Saturday is a tough test in this conference."

The Greyhounds return 2005 ECAC Goalie of the Year Michael Fretwell and will have senior Craig Georgalas, junior Steven Hess and junior Jordan Rabidou leading the team as captains in their second season of ECAC competition. Last year, Loyola finished 4-2 in the conference, tying Georgetown, who was also one game back of UMass and Penn State.

Fretwell was also named the preseason favorite for Goalie of the Year while Hess was named to the All-ECAC preseason squad. UMass' Sean Morris is the preseason Offensive Player of the Year while teammate Jack Reid is the preseason Defensive Player of the Year.

This season, Loyola will begin conference play with Penn State on Saturday March 4 at Diane Geppi-Aikens Field. The Nittany Lions were picked third in this season's poll following a 5-1 finish in 2005.

The ECAC Lacrosse League adds Fairfield in 2006. The Stags are picked fifth in the poll while Hobart, Rutgers and St. John's round out the coaches' predictions.

Established in 1999, the ECAC Lacrosse League is a Division I men's lacrosse league. Charter members Georgetown, Massachusetts, Penn State, and Rutgers added Hobart College, Loyola College and St. John's University in 2005. This year, they welcome Fairfield University, which increases the membership to eight.

2006 ECAC Coaches' Poll1. Georgetown2. UMass3. Penn State4. Loyola5. Fairfield6. Hobart7. Rutgers8. St. John's