Three Loyola Men’s Lacrosse Players Selected In MLL Draft

Jan. 22, 2016

BALTIMORE - Seniors Tyler Albrecht, David Manning and Zach Herreweyers were selected Friday afternoon in the Major League Lacrosse Draft that was held at the Hilton Hotel at the Baltimore Convention Center during the U.S. Lacrosse Convention.

The trio brings the total of Loyola University Maryland men’s lacrosse players drafted in the last four years to 13. Albrecht was picked in the second round, 15th overall, by the Atlanta Blaze; Manning was selected 43rd overall by the New York Lizards in the fifth round; Herreweyers joined the Chesapeake Bayhawks four picks later, going 47th overall in the sixth.

Albrecht, a midfielder from Oakville, Ontario, will join his former teammate Scott Ratliff ’13 with the Blaze. The Atlanta-area native was traded to his hometown team prior to the draft for a host of players and future draft picks.

Albrecht was third on the team in goals scored (23) last season after starting all 15 games on the Greyhounds’ first midfield unit. He also ran wings on the faceoff unit and picked up 35 ground balls. During his three years at Loyola, Albrecht has scored 35 goals and assisted 10 while tallying 67 ground balls.

Herreweyers led the Patriot League and was seventh in NCAA Division I in goals per game (3.13) last season while earning All-Patriot League First Team honors. The native of London, Ontario, scored 47 goals, also tops in the League, as a junior and recorded hat tricks in nine of the Greyhounds’ 15 games. In 26 career games, Herreweyers has scored 66 goals and recorded three or more 14 times.

Manning is slated to return to the Greyhounds close defense this season after missing last year with a knee injury. The Chapel Hill, North Carolina, native started all 16 games a junior in 2014 on a team that allowed just 7.47 goals per game. Manning finished the season with 24 ground balls and six caused turnovers.

He will join current Loyola Director of Men’s Lacrosse Joe Fletcher ’13 who was the MLL Defensive Player of the Year last summer for the Lizards.