Oshrine Named To Patriot League 25th Anniversary Golf Team

Aug. 28, 2015

CENTER VALLEY, Pa. - Matt Oshrine was named to the Patriot League Men’s Golf 25th Anniversary Team this week, an honor that is part of a year-long celebration of the conference’s 25th season as an all-sports league.

Oshrine was the Patriot League Golfer of the Year in 2015 as he won the conference title and helped the Greyhounds to their second team crown in as many years. The win secured Loyola’s eighth-consecutive NCAA Championships bid, as the Greyhounds won six conference titles in a row prior to joining the Patriot League.

Oshrine became the all-time leader in Patriot League Golfer of the Month awards as a sophomore, winning his fifth overall, and he was a two-time All-Patriot League First Team honoree.

He earned PING All-Northeast Region honors for the second-straight season as a sophomore in 2015. During the year, he won the Doc Gimmler Invitational and the Middleburg Bank Intercollegiate in addition to his League title.

He was also named the Patriot League Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year for his success in the classroom and on the course.

At the season-opening Doc Gimmler, Oshrine broke the program's 54-hole tournament record, shooting 16-under 192 (64-65-65). He was later the lone player to break part at the Middleburg Bank, tying the 54-hole tournament record with a 2-under 208 (70-72-66). He then led the Greyhounds to their eighth-straight conference title by again finishing as the only player under par, shooting a 1-under 215 (72-70-73).

Oshrine, who has completed his Loyola career and will continue his collegiate play at Duke University, led the Greyhounds with a 71.72 stroke average and shot at least one round under par through all 10 regular-season tournaments, finishing the year with 19 of 36 rounds at par-or-better.

The Patriot League is releasing 25th Anniversary Teams throughout the month of August for each sport that has been sponsored by the League since it became an all-sport conference beginning in the 1990-91 season. In addition to the 25th Anniversary Teams, coverage throughout the 2015-16 season will focus on former student-athletes and top stories in the history of the Patriot League.