Loyola Announces All-Century Team

Nov. 15, 2008

Baltimore, Md. - Twenty-one of the greatest players in the 98-year history of Loyola basketball were honored tonight with the highest achievement ever recognized by the College -- inclusion as members of the All-Century Team. The team was announced as the highlighted event of a gala which was held in McGuire Hall, formerly the home of many great Loyola basketball moments.

The team was selected through an internet vote prior to tonight's event. Representation came from four distinct eras of Loyola basketball. Those in attendance at the gala took part in a special photo opportunity with members of this year's Greyhounds.

Members of the team announced tonight included:

Tracy Bergan (1989-1994)
Gerald Brown (2005-2008)
Morris Cannon (1972-1976)
Andre Collins (2005-2006)
Bob Connor, Jr. (1967-1971)
Edward "Nap" Doherty (1949-1953)
David Gately (1983-1987)
Barney Goldberg (1939-1943)
Kevin Green (1988-1992)
Gene Gwiazdowski (1970-1974)
Joel Hittleman (1950-1954)
Mike Krawczyk (1968 - 1972)
Jim Lacy (1943-1944, 1946-1949)
Bill Liston (1927-1931)
Mike Morrison (1985-1989)
Andy O'Donnell (1946-1950)
Mike Powell (1995-1998)
Kevin Robinson (1971-1975)
Mark Rohde (1972-1976)
Jason Rowe (1997-2000)
Eugene "Utz" Twardowicz (1928-1931)

The weekend of festivities began with Friday night's sold out game against Mount St. Mary's and concludes with Sunday's matchup with Tennessee State in Reitz Arena. Game time is 1 o'clock.