Greyhounds Sweep La Salle

March 16, 2012

PHILADELPHIA - The Loyola University Maryland men’s and women’s tennis teams swept La Salle University Thursday afternoon. The Greyhound men earned a 6-1 victory to move their record to 5-0 this year, while the women defeated the Explorers, 7-0, to raise their record to 8-1.

Both teams swept the doubles point, as the Greyhounds won all six matches.

On the women’s side, Rachel Janasek and Olivia Ott defeated Kiara Smith and Elli Vamvakitis, 6-1, 6-1, in the first doubles match, followed by Scarlett Hoy and Judy Lite defeating Celesta Smith and Chloe Trave, 8-8 (5-7). In the third doubles match, Sabrina Fedele and Tiffany Ash defeated Courtney Babo and Pearl Wilkins, 6-4, 6-0.

On the men’s side, J. Pierce Norton and Kevin Zingler defeated Hunter Selman and Robert Kasinow, 8-1, in the first doubles match. Keyan Sanai and Bobby Gorczakowiski then beat Chas Berenato and De’Sean Fennell, 8-5. Conner Lisco and Bobby Glaessner rounded out the doubles competition with a 9-7 win over Joseph LaBate and Trevor Donovan.

In singles action, Janasek became the fourth-most winningest singles player in Loyola history, recording her 68th singles victory in a 6-2, 6-2 win over K. Smith.

In second singles, Hoy defeated Vamvakitis, 6-1, 6-1, while Fedele defeated C. Smith, 3-6, 6-0 (8-1) in third singles. In fourth singles, Ash knocked off Trave, 6-2, 6-3, and Lite defeated Babo 6-1, 6-3, at fifth singles. Ott rounded out the singles wins for Loyola, defeating Wilkins, 6-4, 6-0.

On the men’s side, Sanai claimed the first singles point, beating Berenato, 6-1, 6-2. La Salle claimed the second singles point, as Fennell beat Norton, 6-2, 7-5. At third singles, Zingler defeated Selman, 6-0, 6-1, and Gorczakowski defeated LaBate, 5-7, 6-2 (10-2) at fourth singles.

Lisco knocked off Donovan at fifth singles for Loyola, 6-1, 6-2, and Kunkel rounded out the wins for the Greyhounds, downing Donovan, 6-1, 6-2.

Loyola will be back in action on Saturday, hosting its first MAAC match of the season, as the Greyhounds will face Niagara at 11 a.m.