Exciting Finish Helps Greyhounds Sweep H2Ounds Invitational

Dec. 6, 2014

Final Results

BALTIMORE - The Loyola University Maryland men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams swept Iona, Marist and Saint Peter’s in the annual H2Ounds Invitational Saturday at Mangione Pool. 

The men, down three points to Marist heading into the final event, needed to win the 400 free relay to capture the victory. The relay team of Alec Sperandio, Ben Pearthree, Rich Mueller and Madison Hardimon came through, turning in the program's fourth-best time, a mark of 3:06.36, to out-touch Marist by just over one second and beat their former conference rivals, 188-182. Loyola’s men also downed Iona, 285-83, and Saint Peter’s, 287-72, while the women earned a 293-73 victory over Iona, a 255-115 win over Marist and a 297-63 decision against Saint Peter’s.

Loyola’s relay team of Erin Calderoni, Tara Mulligan, Megan Brady and Brianna Keelan started the day with a win in the 200 free relay, touching in 1:35.43. The men’s squad of Sperandio, Hardimon, Rich Mueller and Nigel Hunter followed suit, winning the men’s race in 1:24.22.

The Greyhounds swept the 400 IM titles, with Maddie Myers finishing first in 4:28.90, marking the program’s second-fastest performance of all-time, and Aidan O’Hara clocking a time of 4:02.91, the program's third-fastest time.

Tara Mulligan then captured the 100 fly title in 58.36, barely out-touching teammate Courteney Martin, who finished second in 58.68. Pearthree picked up runner-up honors for the men’s squad, finishing in 51.29.

Keelan won the 200 free in 1:51.99 and Calderoni finished runner-up in 1:52.58, while Hardimon was also second, finishing the men’s race in 1:43.32.

In the 100 back, Jenna Egan turned in the program’s fifth-fastest time, touching in 58.04. Zeke Wolfgang finished second in the men’s race with a time of 51.44.

The Greyhounds then swept the 100 breast titles with Mulligan winning her second event of the day in 1:05.04 and Dale Maholage taking the men’s title in 58.37. Cara Egan finished runner-up to Mulligan on the women’s side with a time of 1:05.68.

Andrew Mann concluded the second session for the Greyhounds with a second-place finish in the 1650 free in 16:20.13, the fifth-best time in school history.

The Greyhounds opened the third and final session with a pair of victories in the 200 medley relay. The women’s squad of Marie Clarkson, Mulligan, Martin and Keelan finished in 1:45.42, the program’s second-fastest time ever, while the men’s squad of O’Hara, Maholage, Pearthree and Hunter teamed for a time of 1:34.01.

Jenna Egan turned in the program’s third-fastest time in the 200 back, touching second in 2:03.98, while O’Hara captured the men’s title in 1:50.48 and Sperandio finished second in 1:53.47.

Loyola swept the 100 free titles with Calderoni and Keelan finishing in a close 1-2 for the women in 51.51 and 51.56, respectively. Hardimon won the men’s race in 46.34.

The Greyhounds picked up a pair of runner-up finishes in the 200 breast with Theresa McKallen touching in 2:23.77 for the program’s fifth-fastest time and Maholage turning in the program's fifth-best time of 2:09.47.

Myers was the final individual winner for the Greyhounds, picking up the 200 fly title in 2:07.16, while Martin touched second in 2:07.81. Those times mark the second and third best times in school history, respectively.

The meet was capped off by a pair of 400 free relay titles, as the women’s squad of Keelan, Jenna Egan, Mulligan and Calderoni finished in 3:30.33, the third-best performance in program history.

Loyola will return to action after the New Year when it heads to Puerto Rico for the Copa Coqui Invitational on Sunday, Jan. 4.