Men's Swimming & Diving Wins Thomas Murphy Invite

Nov. 6, 2010

Complete Results
Photo Gallery

BALTIMORE - The Loyola University Maryland men's swimming and diving team won all 11 individual events on Saturday, and the Greyhounds won the Thomas Murphy Invitational, 237.5-126.5, over Johns Hopkins in the Mangione Pool at the Fitness & Aquatics Center.

William Jackson was named the winner of the 2010 Thomas Murphy Scholarship. The award, named in memory of the former Loyola swimming & diving coach, is given yearly to a member of the team who exhibits excellence in academics and character.

The women's swimming and diving team lost to Johns Hopkins, 213-151, Saint Francis (Pa.), 222-142, and Richmond, 224.5-143.5.

Brennan Morris won two events - the 400-yard individual medley and the 200-yard breaststroke - on Saturday after a victory in the 500-yard freestyle on Friday night.

He swam a time of 3:56.06 in the 400-yard individual medley to beat teammates Patrick Mukri (4:13.14), Jacob Drannan (4:17.30) and Bryan Bedacht (4:18.09) who were second, third and fourth, respectively.

Carissa McStay took fifth in the women's 400-yard individual medley (4:43.93), and Caitlin Cassidy was sixth in the 100-yard butterfly (1:00.72).

Ozzy Torres won both butterfly events for the men, the 100- and 200-yard races. He beat Johns Hopkins' Nick Schmidt by more than a second with a time of 50.52 in the shorter race, and Torres then finished in a clip of 1:55.45 in the 200.

Ryan Shovlin took second in the 200 fly, swimming 1:57.73, while Tim Rowe was third in 2:01.18.

Loyola won all four diving events on Saturday. Michael Brown took first in the 1- and 3-meter events with scores of 199.72 and 204.52. Elizabeth Mixa scored 142.42 to win the women's 3-meter event, and 175.12 to win the 1-meter.

Caitlin Cronin continued the fast start to her freshman season for the Greyhounds' women. She was victorious in the 200-yard freestyle (1:54.53), and she then edged Saint Francis' Alicia Ford by 0.18 seconds in the 100-yard freestyle, finishing in 53.37.

Scott Heil fought off a charging Anthony Lordi in to win the men's 200-yard freestyle in 1:42.40, 0.22 ahead of Lordi. Shovlin took third in 1:47.20. Heil also won the 100-yard freestyle in 47.83, while Tony Florida was fourth in 48.90.

Mary Henkesl touched the wall in 1:00.26 in the women's 100-yard backstroke to place fourth, while Sam McQuaid won the men's 100-yard backstroke in 53.71.

Kim Krzaczek notched a fourth-place finish in the 100-yard breaststroke for the women, an event in which Noelle Staib took seventh in 1:11.22.

Matt Fralinger won the men's 100 breast in 58.76, while Bedacht and Ben Duva took the top two spots in the men's 1,650-yard freestyle in 16:48.62 and 16:52.37.

Mukri won the 200-yard backstroke in 1:53.68, a full four-plus seconds ahead of his nearest competitor.

Krzaczek was fourth, and Staib fifth, in the 200-yard breaststroke with times of 2:31.00 and 2:31.82.

Morris and Fralinger went one-two in the men's 200 breast with Morris edging Fralinger, 2:07.63-2:08.72. Marc Fink was sixth (2:16.43) and Rich Palm took seventh (2:17.23) in the race.

The Greyhounds are back in action at home next Saturday when they host the men and women from Howard and the women of Mount St. Mary's, beginning at 1 p.m.