Seven Greyhounds Win Against Lafayette And Seton Hall

Oct. 29, 2011

Final Stats

BALTIMORE - Seven Greyhounds won individual events Saturday, while one relay team was victorious, as the Loyola University Maryland swimming and diving team split competition with Lafayette and Seton Hall at the Mangione Aquatic Center. Loyola’s men knocked off Lafayette, 217-83, but dropped a close contest to Seton Hall, 162-136. On the women’s side, the Greyhounds defeated Lafayette, 195.5-104.5, but fell to Seton Hall, 161-139.

“Overall, I am very pleased with how the team performed today,” head coach Brian Loeffler said. “We would have liked to have won both meets for the men and women, but overall I would say the meet was a great success. We had many team members come away with personal-best times.”

Junior Brennan Morris led the way on the men’s side with first-place finishes in the 1000-yard freestyle, 200-yard breaststroke and 500-yard freestyle. Morris’ time of 9:11.89 in the 1000-yard freestyle currently ranks fifth in the NCAA, while he touched in a time of 2:07.53 in the 200-yard breaststroke and in 4:37.18 in the 500-yard freestyle.

Morris was also a member of the Greyhounds’ 200-yard medley relay that finished second in 1:36.21. He swam with junior Jeffrey Rowe, senior Patrick Mukri and senior Tony Florida.

On the women’s side, sophomore Caitlin Cronin earned two first-place finishes and a third-place finish on the day. Cronin led Loyola to a sweep of the top-three places in the 200-yard freestyle, touching in 1:55.37. Freshman Brianna Keelan finished second in 1:59.19 and sophomore Erin Shea was third in 1:59.60.

Cronin also claimed top honors in the 100-yard freestyle with a time of 53.04, while Keelan was third in 55.12. In the 50-yard freestyle, Cronin touched third in 24.22.

Senior Patrick Mukri also had an impressive day for the Greyhounds, claiming two individual victories and a runner-up finish. Mukri finished first in the 200-yard freestyle in 1:42.52 and in the 200-yard backstroke (1:54.69), while he was second in the 100-yard backstroke with a time of 54.65.

Other individual winners for Loyola were sophomore Courtney Chenet, senior Mary Henkels, sophomore Elizabeth Mixa and junior Ryan Shovlin.

Chenet won the 200-yard breaststroke in 2:27.69 and Henkels won the 100-yard backstroke in 59.37. Senior Courtney Trivino earned a third-place finish in each of those events, finishing the 200-yard breaststroke in 2:31.69 and the 100-yard backstroke in 1:00.61.

Chenet also finished second in the 200-yard individual medley (2:13.06) and third in the 100-yard butterfly (1:01.48), while Henkels earned a runner-up finish in the 200-yard backstroke (2:10.29).

Mixa won the 3-meter diving with a score of 223.05, while junior Kathleen Del Duca was third with a score of 180.5.

On the men’s side, Shovlin won the 200-yard butterfly in 1:56.71 and finished third in the 200-yard individual medley (2:00.18).

Loyola’s women’s 400-yard freestyle relay was also victorious, with the quartet of Keelan, senior Lauren Mari, Shea and Cronin combining for a time of 3:37.58.

In the 1000-yard freestyle, freshman Erin Calderoni finished second in 10:53.95 and sophomore Samantha Berizzi was third in 10:58.79.

In the 200-yard freestyle, freshman Armand Aquirre touched third in 1:46.37, while Rowe was third in the 100-yard breaststroke (59.77). Rowe also earned a runner-up finish in the 50-yard freestyle (20.90) and the 100-yard butterfly (52.12).

Senior Tony Florida took third in the 50-yard freestyle with a time of 21.28, while he was also second in the 100-yard freestyle (48.24).

Junior Abby Wiese was third in the 200-yard butterfly (2:13.37), Calderoni was third in the 500-yard freestyle (5:20.14) and Shea was third in the 200-yard individual medley.

Sophomore Michael Brown earned runner-up finishes in both the 1-meter diving and 3-meter diving. Brown finished with a score of 237.65 in 1-meter diving and 229.65 in 3-meter diving.

Loyola will return to action Friday and Saturday, Nov. 4-5, when it hosts Johns Hopkins and Saint Francis (Pa.) in the Thomas Murphy Invitational.