Loyola Men's Swimming Repeats As MAAC Champions

Feb. 20, 2010

Complete Results | Photo Gallery 

BALTIMORE - Loyola University Maryland men's swimming won five events on Saturday evening, and the Greyhounds successfully defended their Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference title at the Loyola Mangione Aquatic Center.

The conference title is the third in school history. Loyola also won the title in 1995 and again in 2009. The Greyhounds scored 794.5 points in their victory, easily outdistancing Rider with 718 and Marist with 556.

Freshman Brennan Morris was named the MAAC Championships Men's Most Outstanding Swimmer after scoring 60 individual points points with three event titles for the Greyhounds. He set four MAAC records during the competition.

Loyola's women took fourth place with 459 points, while Marist won with 921.

"It is a tremendous accomplishment to win back-to-back titles, and I am extremely proud of the job that our guys did this week," Head Coach Brian Loeffler said. "Our women had some great performances and a strong meet, too."

Morris opened the evening program with a huge MAAC record in the 1,650-yard freestyle. He won in 15:21.54, taking over 20 seconds off the previous record of 15:41.88 set in 1989 by La Salle's Jeff Gershe. During the race, Morris also set the MAAC record in the 1,000-yard freestyle with a split time of 9:19.95.

Morris' time also is an NCAA `B' Qualifying time. Earlier this season, he became the first Loyola swimmer to ever record a `B' cut time when he reached the standard in the 200-yard individual medley.

Sam McQuaid followed that race with a victory in the 200-yard backstroke, clocking a time of 1:50.85, while Drannan placed third in 1:51.84. Patrick Mukri was seventh in 1:56.14, and Jake Swiggett recorded an eighth-place time of 1:57.88.

Brad Reeser made it three races in a row for the Greyhounds, winning the 100-yard freestyle in 45.92.

The Greyhounds then took second and third in the 200-yard breaststroke. Matt Fralinger edged teammate Colin Chenet for second in 2:02.36, while Chenet clocked a time of 2:03.48.

Loyola put three swimmers in the top five of the 200-yard butterfly. Ozzy Torres led the way in third place (1:53.38), followed by Tim Rowe (1:55.15) and Ryan Shovlin (1:55.15).

The 400-yard freestyle relay team of Drannan, Zach Oster, McQuaid and Reeser wrapped up the victory with a first-place finish in 3:05.28. Loyola won all five relays at the championships.

Megan Shovlin opened the evening for Loyola's women, taking fourth in the 1,650-yard freestyle in 17:23.17. Mary Henkels then placed sixth in the 200-yard backstroke with a time of 2:07.15.

Lauren Mari placed sixth in the 100-yard freestyle, touching the wall in 52.64. Courtney Trivino and Mary Jane Pijanowski took fifth and eighth, respectively, in the 200-yard breaststroke, finishing in 2:26.09 and 2:29.94.

Abby Weise finished seventh in the 200-yard butterfly in 2:10.28.