Men's Swimming & Diving Wins Third Straight MAAC Title

Feb. 19, 2011

Complete Results

BUFFALO, N.Y. - Brennan Morris was named the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference Men's Most Outstanding Swimmer after winning four individual events, and the Loyola University Maryland swimming and diving team won the MAAC Championship for the third consecutive year.

Head Coach Brian Loeffler earned MAAC Men's Coach of the Year honors, as well, as he guided the Greyhounds to the title at the Burt Flickinger Center.

Loyola tallied 796 points, easily outdistancing Marist which finished second with 593.5. Rider took third (563), while Iona (423.5) and Canisius (411.5) rounded out the top five.

The Greyhounds women's team placed third, a one-spot improvement from last year. Marist won the women's crown with 843 points, followed by Rider (566) and Loyola (499.5). Three Loyola women set school records during Saturday's action.

"I am very happy for a very special group of talented senior men," Loeffler said. "Winning three in a row will be something this class is remembered for. The women also had a great weekend, setting multiple records and improving on last year. The future is very bright for the team."

Morris opened the evening session with a MAAC record in the 1,650-yard freestyle. He swam 15:19.39, shaving over two seconds off the record he set last year as a freshman. His time not only won the event but it was his third NCAA `B' Qualifying Standard of the weekend. Morris earned MAAC Men's Most Outstanding Swimmer honors for the second year in a row, as well.

Scott Heil wrapped up an outstanding individual program a few events later, touching the wall in 45.01 in the 100-yard freestyle to win his second MAAC title of the competition. Teammate Sam McQuaid finished in 46.88 to place third.

Matt Fralinger and Colin Chenet turned in second- and fourth-place finished, respectively, in the 200-yard breaststroke. They had times of 2:01.61 and 2:03.51 in the event.

Ozzy Torres, who won the 100-yard butterfly on Thursday, placed fourth in the 200-yard version of the event with a time of 1:52.52. Ryan Shovlin and Tim Rowe claimed seventh and eighth in 1:55.37 and 1:55.75.

With the title already wrapped up, the men's 400-yard freestyle relay did not ease up. Heil, Morris, Torres and McQuaid won by more than two seconds with a time of 3:02.17.

On the women's side, Mary Henkels claimed sixth place in the 200-yard backstroke (2:07.09), and Caitlin Cronin nabbed second in the 100-yard freestyle (51.64).

Cronin's time set a school record, breaking the mark she set earlier in the day during the preliminaries.

Courtney Chenet and Noelle Staib finished fourth (2:24.92) and fifth (2:25.60) in the 200-yard breaststoke, while Courtney Trivino was seventh (2:28.44) in the event.

In Saturday's preliminaries, Chenet swam 2:21.61 to set a school record.

Abby Weise was the third women's swimmer to set a school record, recording a time of 2:08.33 in the 200-yard butterfly to place fifth.

Michael Brown turned in an eighth-place performance in the men's 1-meter diving event, scoring 182.85 points in the final.